NSA coach, 7 Saints named All State

Published 9:09 pm Monday, December 14, 2009

Nansemond-Suffolk’s first-year head football coach, Kevin Allen, was named Coach of the Year and seven Saint players were named to the 2009 Virginia Independent Schools, Div. II All-State Team last Friday. Allen led the Saints to their first state championship since the 2000 season. Sean Buttery, Domonique Lennon and Josh Todd each earned all-state honors at two positions.

2009 Virginia Independent Schools Div. II

All-State Football Team


Email newsletter signup

(All first-team players and Nansemond-Suffolk players on second team or honorable mention)

Offensive line

First team: Tim Agresty – Atlantic Shores, Jr., Colin Brooke – Christchurch, Sr., Sean Buttery – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr., K.C. Camp – Blue Ridge, Sr., Colin Ponder – Virginia Episcopal, Jr.

Second team: Bayard Mason – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr.

Tight end

First team: Josh Lovell – Christchurch, Sr.

Second team: Josh Todd – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr.

Running back

First team: Will Crenshaw – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr., Kwante Moore – Norfolk Christian, So., Chris Schifflett – Covenant, Jr.


First team: Speedy McCauley – Blue Ridge, Sr., Caleb Bailey – Atlantic Shores, Sr.

Honorable mention: Domonique Lennon – Nansemond-Suffolk, Jr.

Wide receiver

First team: Anthony Williams – Atlantic Shores, Sr., Sam Dale – Covenant, Sr.

Place kicker

First team: Bobby Lamm – Nansemond-Suffolk, So.

Kick returner

First team: Sam Dale – Covenant, Sr.

Punt returner

First Team: Pat Young – Christchurch, So.


First team: Dan Alexander – Virginia Episcopal, Jr.

Second team: Josh Todd – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr.

Defensive line

First team: Colin Brooke – Christchurch, Sr., Sean Buttery – Nansemond-Suffolk, Sr., Gabe Sigmon – Atlantic Shores, Sr., Isaih Battle – Blue Ridge, Jr.


First team: Adam Villio – Covenant, Sr., Ryan May – Nansemond-Suffolk, Jr., Andrew Long – Atlantic Shores, So., Clevland Battle – Christchurch, Jr.

Defensive back

First team: Martin Owens – Virginia Episcopal, Kevin Edwards – Atlantic Shores, Sr., Domonique Lennon – Nansemond-Suffolk, Jr., David Coe – Blue Ridge, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Kevin Allen – Nansemond-Suffolk