• 41°

College offers workforce training options

The College’s Division of Workforce Development provides a variety of training and educational options in Franklin, Smithfield and Suffolk. Following are upcoming workforce courses scheduled at PDCCC’s Regional Workforce Development Center in Franklin during February and March:

Tradesman License Renewal

This course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impacts on the job, general use and special equipment included in the respective codes. The class meets Feb. 27, from 9 a.m. to noon. The cost is $135.

Basic Contract Business Licensing

Providing an overview of the statutes and regulations that govern contractor licensing in Virginia, this class meets February 20, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $175. This class is also scheduled for March 20, same time and price.

Electricians Tradesman Renewal

Electricians obtaining or renewing a license must take three hours of continuing education in their field. This course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, on- the-job impacts, general use, and special equipment included in the respective codes. The class meets March 13, from 9 a.m. to noon. The cost is $135 tuition, which includes a textbook.

Tradesman License Renewal

Designed for plumbers obtaining or renewing a license who must take three hours of continuing education in their field, this course covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, impacts on the job, general use, and special equipment included in the respective codes. The tuition fee includes the cost for a textbook. This class meets Saturday, from 9 a.m. to noon. The cost is $125.

Gas Fitters Tradesman Renewal

Gas Fitters obtaining or renewing a license must take one hour of continuing education in their field. This class for Gas Fitters is intended for Journeyman and Master Gas Fitters, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Fitters, and Natural Gas Fitters. It covers new definitions, code changes, general requirements, on-the-job impacts, general use, and special equipment included in the respective codes. The class meets March 15, from 6:30 to 7:30 pm. The cost is $75.

Motor Vehicle Dealer-Operator

Since 2006, the dealer-operator of any new independent motor vehicle dealership is required to complete a course of study before being allowed to take the dealer-operator qualification test at any DMV Customer Service Center. The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association have teamed up to present a two-day course that meets Feb. 23-24, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $375.

For class registration details or information on other workforce offerings, visit the workforce Web site at www.pdc.edu/workforce-development, or call/email Renee Brown at 569-6050/rbrown@pc.vccs.edu.

For information on other options available at PDCCC, call 569-6700, or visit the College Web site at www.pdc.edu.