Warrior wins postseason honors

Published 10:28 pm Thursday, March 3, 2011

Nansemond River senior Ashton Moore earned the Player of the Year award in the Southeastern District and was named first-team All-Eastern Region for the 2010-11 basketball season. Moore averaged 18.0 points per game as the Warriors won the district season title and reached the quarterfinals of the regional tournament.

Ashton Moore’s sweet shooting has earned him a pair of postseason honors, the Southeastern District’s Player of the Year and a spot on the Eastern Region’s all-region first team, as the district and regional basketball seasons have drawn to a close.

Moore, a senior guard at Nansemond River, averaged 18.0 points per game and made 45 percent of his three-point shots. His hot shooting sparked many Warrior rallies as Nansemond River won the Southeastern District season championship and finished with an overall record of 21-6.

Along with the scoring, Moore averaged 4.3 rebounds, 4.3 assists and 3.0 steals per game.

Email newsletter signup

King’s Fork junior Zach Johnson was the lone post player on the district’s first team. In his first season as a starter for the Bulldogs, Johnson averaged 15.6 points, 9.6 rebounds and 1.8 blocks per game. He helped the Bulldogs to a 17-6 record and second place in the SED regular season.

Nansemond River junior Delisha Sharpe is one of five underclassmen on the district’s first team on the girls side.

Sharpe, a 6-foot-2 center, averaged a double-double with 16.3 points per game and 12.4 rebounds per game.

Sharpe led the Lady Warriors to second place in the district, which ties NR’s best district finish in program history, and the quarterfinals of the Eastern Region Tournament for the first time in NR’s girls hoops history. The Lady Warriors finished with a 19-7 record.

King’s Fork center Khadedra Croker is the only freshman on the top two girls teams. Croker, at 6-foot-3, made triple-doubles a routine for Lady Bulldog games this winter. She averaged 11.4 points, 11.3 rebounds and 8.7 blocks per game.

Nansemond River head coach Ed Young was the Southeastern District Coach of the Year on the boys side. Young has a 142-42 record in seven years coaching the Warriors.

2010-11 All-Southeastern District basketball teams

Boys basketball

First Team

  • Ashton Moore, Nansemond River, G, 6’0”, Sr.
  • Michael Foley, Hickory, G, 6’2”, Sr.
  • Taj Owens, Great Bridge, G, 5’9”, Jr.
  • Zach Johnson, King’s Fork, F, 6’4”, Jr.
  • Lavante Thomas, Deep Creek, G, 5’9”, Sr.
  • Rodney Livingston, Indian River, G, 6’2”, Sr.

Second Team

  • Tre Boone, Hickory, F, 6’4”, Sr.
  • DaJuan Wright, Oscar Smith, G, 5’10”, Sr.
  • Dontrell Brite, Nansemond River, G, 5’9”, Jr.
  • Josh Beck, Lakeland, G’, 6’2”, Sr.
  • Keon Tatem, Indian River, C, 6’6”, Sr.
  • Honorable Mention (Suffolk players)
  • Shannon Evans, Nansemond River G, 6’0”, Jr.
  • Michael Copeland, Nansemond River F, 6’1”, Jr.
  • Tre Francisco, King’s Fork, G, 6’0”, Sr.
  • Fred Scott, King’s Fork, F, 6’2”, Sr.
  • Marichal Walden, Lakeland, F, 6’3”, Jr.
  • Dwight Jefferson, Lakeland, G, 5’10”, Sr.

Player of the Year – Ashton Moore, Nansemond River

Coach of the Year – Ed Young, Nansemond River

Girls basketball

First Team

  • Shanese Harris, Western Branch, G, 5’9”, So.
  • Kiera Dunnington, Indian River, G, 5’8”, Sr.
  • Delisha Sharpe, Nansemond River, C, 6’2”, Jr.
  • Iman Williams, Deep Creek, F, 5’9”, Jr.
  • Nola Anderson, Grassfield, G, 5’6”, So.
  • Dalishia Griffin, Western Branch, C, 5’11”, So.

Second Team

  • Khadedra Croker, King’s Fork, C, 6’3”, Fr.
  • Whitney Nichols,  King’s Fork, G, 5’5”, Sr.
  • Courtni Williams, Grassfield, G, 5’5”, So.
  • Krista Moss, Deep Creek, G, 5’7”, Jr.
  • Briana McClain, Nansemond River, G, 5’5”, Sr.

Honorable Mention (Suffolk players)

  • Rodnesia Sallins, Lakeland, G, 5’7”, Sr.
  • Ashante Humphries, Nansemond River, G, 5’8”, So.

Player of the Year – Shanese Harris, Western Branch

Coach of the Year – Troy Terry, Western Branch

All-Eastern Region

Boys basketball

First Team

  • Dorian Finney-Smith, Norcom, F, 6’7”, Sr.
  • Trey Freeman, Kellam, G, 6’2”, Sr.
  • Anthony Barber, Hampton, G, 6’2”, So.
  • Ashton Moore, Nansemond River, G, 6’0”, Sr.
  • Quinton Upshur, B.T. Washington, F, 6’5”, Sr.
  • Decarlos Anderson, Norcom, G, 6’2”, Sr.

Player of the Year – Dorian Finney-Smith, Norcom

Coach of the Year – Leon Goolsby, Norcom