Bayport distributes scholarship money

Published 9:05 pm Thursday, June 8, 2017

BayPort Credit Union hosted its annual scholarship banquet May 23 at the Newport News Mariott at City Center, awarding more than $60,000 to BayPort member scholastic recipients.

Olivette Burroughs, a 2012 Tuition Booster recipient who has gone on to earn her master’s in business administration and works as a health workforce specialist for the Department of Health in Richmond, was the keynote speaker. She is also a part-time adjunct professor at Grand Canyon University.

Scholarship recipients were as follows:

Beard/Bennett Memorial Scholarship


Email newsletter signup

Austen Gralheer; Heritage High School, Newport News; Corbin Hawk, Menchville High School, Newport News; McKenna Head, York High School, Yorktown; Sara Marshall, Menchville High School, Newport News; Cayce Moore, Poquoson High School, Poquoson; and Emily Worrill, Jamestown High School, Williamsburg

Wiatt Memorial Scholarship

Donte Anderson, Newport News; Keisha Pexton, Hampton; and John Pollock, Hampton


Directors Scholarships

Shawn Comparto, Chesapeake; Kayla Cooper, Newport News; Joshua Holder, Hampton; Rachael Holiday, Newport News; Nicole Patrick-Eason, Hampton; and Ashley Wilkins, Carrollton


Tuition Booster Scholarships

Kelley Dubreuil, Virginia Beach; Jillian Fisher, Hayes; Brenda Hardy, Surry; Amy Harris, Hampton; Rebecca Jones, Yorktown; Jennifer McSweeney, Hayes; and Demetrius Robinson, Newport News


SRCU Tellers

Mackenzie Chriscoe, Gloucester HS; Kori Brown, Heritage HS; Ty’Quay Little, Heritage HS; Hannah Gude, Jamestown HS; Jazzmyn Carter, Kecoughtan HS; Brittany Matheson, Kecoughtan HS; Alexis Riddick, Kecoughtan HS; Simon Munn, Kings Fork HS; Latoya Thomas, Kings Fork HS; Dayron Cardoso, Smithfield HS; Hezekiah Hayes, Warhill HS; and Jasmine Pryor, Warhill HS


SRCU Members

Nicole Pope, Gloucester HS; Ayleah Bell, Heritage HS; Jaidah Perry, Heritage HS; Yul Tyler, Heritage HS; Benjamin Williams, Heritage HS; Luke Messick, Kecoughtan HS; Donesha Meekins, Lafayette HS; Dylan Wahl, Warhill HS; Megan Eckstein, York HS

Bayport began its scholarship program in 1961 and has awarded more than $850,000 in scholarships since that time.