Falk wins 100-lapper at Langley

Published 4:25 pm Monday, April 20, 2009

C.E. Falk took the lead for good on the 42nd circuit and rolled to his first victory of the season in the 100-lap Crossroads Fuel Service Late Model Stock Car feature Saturday night at Langley Speedway.

Falk set the fast time in qualifying for the event. Dean Shiflett was second-fastest and lined up to the outside of Falk.

As the green flag appeared, Falk failed to come up to speed immediately and Shiflett shot into the lead. With the inside line struggling to get going, cars began to stack up and the result was a multi-car melee when the field reached the first corner. At least 10 cars were involved to some degree and a complete restart was ordered.

Email newsletter signup

Falk kept the lead on the second start with Shiflett dropping back into second, followed by Greg Edwards, Woody Howard and Nick Smith.

The final caution flag of the race appeared on lap 19 for debris on the front straightaway. Lining up for the restart, Falk was out front, followed by Greg Edwards.

Heading back to the green flag, Greg Edwards ducked to the inside of Falk and grabbed the lead. Shiflett tagged along and picked up the second spot, while Danny Edwards Jr. nabbed third on lap 21, dropping Falk from first to fourth in three laps.

Falk began his rally back to the front on lap 38, shooting past Danny Edwards Jr. in Turns 1 and 2 to take over second place.

On lap 42, Falk got a run on the leader off the second turn and drove past Greg Edwards down the backstretch to regain the lead.

With his pursuers trading positions in his mirror, Falk steamed on toward the checkers. By the finish, his winning margin had grown to 4.114 seconds over Mark Wertz.

Greg Edwards ended up third, edging Danny by half a car-length. Howard finished fifth.

In the evening’s other feature events:

Starting from the pole, Joe Scarbrough jumped out front on the opening lap and showed the way to the checkers to win a 75-lapper for the Rolling Thunder Modified tour.

As the race got under way, Scarbrough motored out front, hauling the 14-car field into Turn 1. Michael Leech settled into second, followed by Chris Hoylman and Hunter Slayton.

After an early caution flag, Scarbrough leaped out to a three-length advantage on the restart. Those jackrabbit restarts would serve him well throughout the event, which was slowed by seven caution flags. The flagman was particularly busy in the first 14 laps as the yellow flag flew three times.

Scarbrough cruised to the finish line, winning by 0.461-second — about three lengths — over Leech. Ronnie Davis was third, followed by Hoylman and Eddie Zacek.

Jammie Goode led from pole to checkers as the Old Point National Bank Grand Stocks kicked off their 2009 campaign with a 40-lap feature.

At the finish, Goode was the winner by 0.696-second over Paul Lubno. Ricky Derrick, Rodney Boyd and Bobby Spivey rounded out the top five.

In pulse-pounding fashion, Jamie Price grabbed the lead on lap 29 and notched a victory in the 30-lap opener for the Casey Cycle City INEX Legends. The race was an INEX regional qualifier and Price’s win earned him an invitation to the Legends national championship, to be held later this year in Georgia.

Brad Hancock was the fastest qualifier and started on the pole.

The last of the race’s four yellow flags was unfurled on lap 24 for a multi-car mess at the start/finish line. That incident ended with Darrell Vance flipping into the inside wall. Officials and rescue personnel quickly arrived on the scene and, just as quickly, Vance hopped from his battered car and walked away.

On the restart, Price latched onto Hancock’s rear bumper, hunting for any opening.

Price decided to create his own opening as the field headed for the white flag. In Turn 4 on lap 29, Price nudged his way alongside Hancock and pulled ahead as Hancock skittered up the track.

At the finish, Price was the winner by two lengths, while Hancock held off Dennis Kiser to retain second.

Casey Sipe started on the outside of the front row, nosed out front on the first circuit and drove on to victory in the 30-lap season-opener for the Standard Welding Pro 6 division.

Over the second half of the event, Casey Sipe managed to keep Doug Warren at arm’s length, winning by 0.638-second — about four car-lengths. Warren Smigo was third, followed by Carter Sipe and Bobby Hall.