Falk motors to 11th Late Model win

Published 7:22 pm Tuesday, September 8, 2009

HAMPTON — C.E. Falk and Paul DeBolt shared the spotlight on Saturday at Langley Speedway, splitting victories in the Law Enforcement Twin 75s for the Crossroads Fuel Service Late Model Stock Cars, the featured events of Langley’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program.

Race No. 1: In the first race, Falk started from the pole and led all the way to notch his 10th win of the season.

Woody Howard shared the front row with Falk and settled into the runner-up spot on the opening lap. Wesley Falk, C.E.’s brother, emerged from the shuffle in third.

Email newsletter signup

On lap 21, Danny Edwards Jr. bypassed Howard for the runner-up spot. The exchange allowed C.E. Falk to pad his lead to five lengths.

As C.E. Falk navigated slower traffic, Danny Edwards Jr. chopped into his margin. By the time the race’s second, and final, yellow flag waved at lap 32, Falk’s lead had been trimmed to just two lengths.

When the race resumed, C.E. Falk led Danny Edwards Jr., Howard, Mark Wertz and Greg Edwards in a five-car breakaway.

Falk motored into traffic on lap 63 and was able to increase his lead as Danny Edwards Jr. and Wertz dueled for second place.

At the finish, Falk was the winner by 1.095 seconds — about six lengths — over Danny Edwards Jr., who slipped away from Wertz in the closing circuits. Greg Edwards tailed the lead trio to the line, in fourth, followed by Howard.

Race No. 2: Starting from the pole, Paul DeBolt jumped out front on the first lap and rolled to a convincing win — his first of the year — in a caution-free 75-lapper.

Falk started alongside DeBolt on the front row and remained on his flank until they reached Turn 2 for the first time. Exiting the corner, DeBolt pulled ahead, while Falk dropped into second place. By lap 5, the leader had already opened a four-length margin and the gap was growing.

At the finish, DeBolt was the winner by 1.934 seconds, about half a straightaway. Dean Shiflett was second to the line, followed by Mark Wertz, Falk and Danny Edwards Jr.

Heading into next Saturday’s off night, in deference to NASCAR Sprint Cup Series activities in Richmond, Falk holds a 26-point edge over Danny Edwards Jr., 746-720, in the division standings.

In the evening’s other feature events:

Shawn Balluzzo moved out front on lap 42 and stormed to his third consecutive win, and fourth overall, in the 50-lap B&C Seafood Modified race.

Joe Scarbrough started on the pole and set the pace for the first 41 circuits.

For a good bit of the event, Balluzzo was in second place and content to stalk Scarbrough. On lap 42, Balluzzo slipped underneath Scarbrough off the second corner and gained the clear-cut edge as they exited Turn 4. Just two laps later, Balluzzo had driven away by almost four lengths.

At the finish, Balluzzo was the winner by 0.540-second — about three lengths — over Scarbrough.

Robbie Parker took command of the 40-lap Old Point National Bank Grand Stock race on lap 12 and sailed to his first victory of the season.

Jammie Goode started on the pole and led the first nine laps. On lap 10, though, he suddenly fell off the pace with a broken axle and gave way to division points leader Ricky Derrick.

Goode ground to a halt on lap 11, bringing out the race’s third caution flag. As the field circled behind the pace truck, Derrick turned onto the pit lane and the lead passed to Parker.

At the finish, Parker was the winner by a whopping 4.558 seconds — a full straightaway — over Derrick.

Robbie Davis took the lead on lap 2 and held on for his third straight win in a 25-lapper for the Med Express Urgent Care Super Trucks.

Tommy Nixon started on the pole and leaped out front on the opening lap. Davis, who started third, tagged along with Nixon and took over second place. The first of the race’s three caution flags appeared on lap 2.

On the restart, Davis drove underneath Nixon in Turn 2 and completed the pass for the lead off the fourth corner, quickly opening a two-length lead.

Heading for the white flag, Nixon closed in on Davis for one last shot at the win. He poked a fender to the inside of the leader off the final corner, but couldn’t muster a winning pass as Davis won by 0.182-second — a single truck-length.

Dannie Wyatt started eighth, took the lead on lap 17 and sped to his third victory in the evening’s opening feature, a 20-lap contest for the Rhonnda Claiborne, Realtor HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts.

Division leader Ron Foxx started on the pole, but gave way to Dwain Smith on the first lap.

Wyatt tailed Smith until lap 17 when he moved out front in Turns 3 and 4. Caught out of the draft, Smith fell back as Wyatt, David Phelps and Foxx took charge. The three leaders maintained a disciplined formation all the way to the checkers as Wyatt won by 0.082-second over Phelps.