Police honor their own

Published 10:08 pm Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Dozens of Suffolk Police Department personnel were honored at the department’s annual awards dinner at the Planters Club last week.

The event recognizes outstanding performances by both sworn and non-sworn members of the department. Mayor Linda T. Johnson spoke on behalf of City Council.

The top department members recognized received plaques and award bars to wear on their uniforms. A handful of citizens also were honored for acts of bravery or contributions to the department or community.

Email newsletter signup

Among those recognized were Emergency Communications Operator of the Year, ECOS Rosalind Britt; Police Officer of the Year, Officer Robert Burton; and Supervisor of the Year, Sgt. Sandy Springle.

The banquet also recognized the officers who had been named Officers of the Quarter during 2009. Those officers included Officer Eric Crawley (first quarter), Officer Sergey Solodyankin (second quarter), Officer Jesse Epperson (third quarter) and Burton (fourth quarter).