Forums to feature IW candidates

Published 11:46 pm Friday, September 2, 2011

The Isle of Wight Citizens Association will hold three political forums prior to the Nov. 8 general election.

Each will take place from 6 to 9 p.m. at the Smithfield Center.

The first, on Sept. 26, will feature School Board candidates Robert Eley III from the Carrsville District; incumbent T. Hayes Griffin Jr. and challenger Julia Perkins from the Windsor District; incumbent George Bradby and challenger Kent Hildabrand from the Newport District; and Denise Tynes in the Smithfield District.

Email newsletter signup

The second, on Oct. 3, will feature constitutional office candidates including incumbent Sheriff C.W. “Charlie” Phelps and challengers Mark Marshall and James Crotts; treasurer Judith Crocker Wells; Gerald Gwaltney for Commissioner of Revenue; J. Larry Darden and William Gwaltney Jr. for soil and water conservation; and L. Wayne Farmer for Commonwealth’s Attorney.

The General Assembly candidates are incumbent Democrat Roslyn C. Tyler and Republican challenger Alvin L. “Al” Peschke in House District 75; Louise Lucas for Senate District 18; Democrat incumbent William Barlow and Republican Rick Morris for House District 64; and Republican Harry Blevins for Senate District 4.

The final forum, on Oct. 17, will feature candidates for the county Board of Supervisors. They are Rex Alphin, J. Brian Carroll, Thomas Gaskell, Joe Joyner and Ben Rideout for the Carrsville District seat; incumbent Thomas Johnson Wright and Delores DeeDee Darden for the Windsor District; incumbent Al Casteen and Andrew C. Gregory in the Smithfield District; and incumbent Stan Clark, B.B. “Buzz” Bailey and D. Marie Bailey in the Newport District.

For more information, call Ed Easter at 357-0992 or Grace Keen at 357-5352.