Falk wins two at Langley Speedway

Published 10:51 pm Tuesday, April 24, 2012

C.E. Falk (center) celebrates his twin 50-lap wins in the late-model stock cars features at the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series events Saturday at Langley Speedway. Falk has captured four wins early in the 2012 season. Falk won the prestigious season-opening 300-lap event at South Boston Speedway and a 150-lap event at Motor Mile Speedway at Radford to total his four wins.

By Gary Daughtrey
Special to the News-Herald

C.E. Falk notched a pair of wins, sweeping the Carl’s Racing Products Twin 50s for the EZ Auto in Newport News Late Model Stock Cars, the featured events of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

In the opener, Falk took the lead for good on lap 32 and dashed on to the checkers.


Email newsletter signup

Polesitter Greg Edwards pulled away by half a straightaway in the early going. His healthy margin was wiped out, though, when the first caution flag waved on lap 26.

Back under green, Falk went after Edwards and came away with the lead.

Edwards wasn’t done, however, and the two swapped the top spot twice more before Falk took command of the event.

At the end, Falk won by three lengths over Edwards. Mark Wertz was third, followed by Shayne Lockhart and Casey Wyatt.

In the caution-free nightcap, Falk started on the pole and led all the way for his second win of the evening.

Greg Edwards shared the front row with Falk and held down the runner-up spot for the first 34 circuits before giving way to Mark Wertz.

Down by four lengths, Wertz was able to close ground as the leader sorted through traffic in the waning laps.

At the end, though, Falk shook free of the slower machines and pulled away to win by three lengths.

Wertz was second, while Greg Edwards, Danny Edwards Jr. (in his brother’s backup car) and Wyatt completed the top five.

Tommy Nixon snagged the lead on lap 22 and held on to win the 25-lap Larry King Law Super Truck race.

The event featured four lead changes, with Chase McAdams and Robbie Davis trading the point before Nixon came to the front.

At the end, Nixon won by a length over Davis. McAdams was third, followed by Troy Turnage and Chris Munger.

In the 25-lap SavitaPets.com UCAR feature, Sammy Gaita took the lead on the third circuit and held on for the win.

Tim Wilson moved into second on lap eight, and then erased a half-straightaway deficit, closing in on the leader.

Exiting Turn 4 for the last time, Wilson ducked underneath Gaita. He came up just short at the line, though, as Gaita won.

Bill Eaker tailed the lead duo to the checkers, in third, followed by Jon Largena and Jesse Jones.

Casey Sipe grabbed the lead when Landon Florian faltered on a restart at lap 28 and posted the win in the 30-lap Standard Welding Pro Six feature.

At the finish, Sipe was the winner by four lengths over Nelson Moody. Bobby Hall, Steve Williams and J.B. Sipe rounded out the top five.

Florian, who led laps 21-27, ended up eighth.

Richard Quinn led from pole to checkers and scored a dominating victory in the 40-lap season kickoff for the Cook’s Moving Service Enduros.

At the finish, second-place Alex Floroff was the only other driver on the lead lap.

Larry Drommerhausen was third, followed by Bobby Larkin and Derrick Boggess.