Fire department earns regional awards

Published 9:09 pm Saturday, July 7, 2012

Deputy Chief Brian Spicer of the Suffolk Department of Fire and Rescue shows off the department’s award for Outstanding EMS Agency.

The Suffolk Department of Fire and Rescue received three awards at the Tidewater Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council Regional Awards Ceremony held on June 16 in Norfolk.

The Outstanding Emergency Medical Services Award was presented to Suffolk Department of Fire and Rescue. The department was recognized for its service and professionalism along with a high level of patient care that stems from training programs, community awareness programs, preventive health programs and participation in local, regional and statewide EMS systems.

Philip G. Leavy, M.D. was honored with the Operational EMS Physician Award. Leavy is a 40-year veteran of emergency services in the area, having served as president of the EMS Council Board of Directors, on numerous committees, and, today, serves as the EMS Operational Medical Director.


Email newsletter signup

Leavy has also worked as the Operational Medical Director for Suffolk Department of Fire and Rescue since 2009. Under his leadership, several life-saving initiatives have been implemented. Leavy has also inspired many providers to obtain their Advanced Life Support (ALS) certifications to enhance the department’s capabilities and improve service delivery to the Tidewater region.

Also at the ceremony, Suffolk Firefighter/Medic Rainey Owen received an honorable mention in the Outstanding EMS Instructor Award category.

The Tidewater EMS Council was incorporated in 1974 as a non-profit private organization for the purpose of developing and implementing an efficient and effective regional EMS delivery system. The council integrates and coordinates resources to ensure rapid response and expert patient care, as well as coordination between more than 60 local EMS agencies and 15 hospitals. The Tidewater EMS Council comprises 10 jurisdictions including the cities of Suffolk, Chesapeake, Franklin, Norfolk, Portsmouth and Virginia Beach, and the counties of Accomack, Isle of Wight, Northampton and Southampton.