College appoints advisers

Published 9:48 pm Monday, July 9, 2012

The local board of Paul D. Camp Community College recently approved dozens of appointees to advisory committees.

Paul D. Camp Community College Advisory Committee members are recognized leaders in their respective fields. They assist faculty and administration in planning, conducting and evaluating each occupational/technical program. They also provide counsel in the development of new programs that reflect the changing needs for trained personnel in the community.

“We are fortunate to have so many respected community members who are willing to serve on these committees,” said Dr. Maxine Singleton, vice president of instruction and student development. “The advisory committees are extremely important for the establishment and evaluation of occupational/technical programs and curricula.”


Email newsletter signup

The approved members are:

Administration of Justice committee

  • Det. Sgt. Wanda Covington of the Southampton County Sheriff’s Office
  • David Everett, regional operations director for the Virginia Department of Corrections
  • Sgt. Dennis Greene of the Suffolk Police Department
  • Phillip Hardison, chief of the Franklin Police Department
  • First Sgt. Gregory Jackson of the Virginia State Police Department
  • Lt. Alfred Lenyoun of Western Tidewater Regional Jail
  • Capt. Daniel Maskelony of Western Tidewater Regional Jail
  • Maj. Antonio Parham of Western Tidewater Regional Jail
  • Anthony Parson, assistant security shift supervisor of Nuclear Protection Services at Surry Nuclear Power Station
  • Sheriff J.B. Stutts of Southampton County Sheriff’s Office
  • Capt. James C. Taylor III of the Academy for Staff Development at the Virginia Department of Corrections

Administrative Support Technology

  • Jane Bleiler of Suffolk
  • Carolyn Crowder, retired from PDCCC Division of Workforce Development
  • Peggy Jernigan of Gatesville, N.C.
  • Carolyn Joyner, personnel analyst with the City of Franklin
  • Yolanda Buck of the materials management department of Tidewater Community College
  • Tawana Ford, assistant principal at King’s Fork Middle School
  • Joyce Johnson, utility billing clerk with the City of Franklin
  • Bessie Smith of Franklin

Business & Information Systems Technology

  • Linda Burkett, manager IT, International Paper’s Franklin mill
  • Cindy Ferguson of Travel Dreams
  • Bill Hatch, technical specialist of Southampton County Public Schools
  • Thomas Czerwinski, instructor at the Department of Correctional Education
  • Keith Edwards, Virginia Information Technology Agency
  • Ron Davenport, senior principal consultant with Keane Inc.
  • Brenda Vaughan, CMP, with TMC Design Corporation
  • Amanda Jarratt, president and CEO of Franklin/Southampton Economic Development Inc.

Childcare/Early Childhood Development

  • Mary Bellamy, director of Children of Faith Daycare
  • Connie Burgess, teacher at Riverdale Elementary School and adjunct instructor at Paul D. Camp Community College
  • Ida Council, area supervisor of Community Development Institute at Head Start
  • Lori White, RN, Healthy Families/First Steps Coordinator at Sentara Obici Hospital
  • Dorothy Bryant, site supervisor at The Children’s Center
  • Renee Copeland-Rose, teacher assistant at Mack Benn Jr. Elementary School
  • Ellen Couch, director of Smart Beginnings Western Tidewater

Electricity/Industrial Technology/Welding

  • Dr. Stanley Brantley Jr., vice president of engineering at Amadas Industries
  • Kenneth Bunch, director of business development at Community Electric Cooperative
  • Kelley Conaway, coordinator of instruction with Franklin City Public Schools
  • Mike Conroy with Arcet
  • Anthony King, adjunct instruction at Paul D. Camp Community College
  • Clyde Parker, community liaison, retired from Franklin Equipment Company
  • Frank Rickman, Southampton/Franklin Habitat for Humanity
  • Thomas Sanford of Franklin
  • James Strozier, COO of Highground Services

Nursing and Allied Health

  • Esther Francis, administrator of long-term care at Southampton Memorial Hospital
  • Dr. Candace Rogers, RN, nursing and allied health program lead at PDCCC
  • Deborah Spruill, RN, Corporate Quality Assurance Nurse, Autumn Corporation
  • Gwen Sweat, RN, LPN Program Head at Sentara Obici Hospital
  • Carol Wright, RN, MSN, associate professor of nursing at PDCCC
  • Ann Pinner, associate professor of nursing at PDCCC
  • Edna King of Franklin, community representative
  • Laurie Ross, RN, chief nursing officer at Southampton Memorial Hospital
  • Phyllis Stoneburner, RN, vice president for Patient Care Services at Sentara Obici Hospital