Langley gives annual awards

Published 9:05 pm Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Suffolk’s Landon Florian, along with his family and crew, celebrates during the Langley Speedway awards banquet on Saturday. Florian was the track champion in the Pro-Six Class in his No. 98 car. He was the “Rookie Of The Year” in his first season with the Pro 6 class and captured the track championship by one point in the last race of the season over the second-place finisher Steve Williams.

By Gary Daughtrey

More than 350 people filled the grand ballroom inside the Hampton Roads Convention Center on Saturday as Langley Speedway put the wraps on a memorable 2012 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series campaign with its annual awards banquet.

The top finishers from each of the track’s 11 regular divisions were recognized. Special attention was reserved for the 2012 champions: Greg Edwards, Late Model Stock Cars; Shawn Balluzzo, Modifieds; Ricky Derrick, Grand Stocks; Renno Marchetti IV, Super Streets; Nick Smith, INEX Legends; Robbie Davis, Super Trucks; Bill Eaker, UCARs; Landon Florian, Pro Sixes; Charlie-Ray Lorah, HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts; Ryleigh Lemonds, INEX Bandoleros; and Alex Floroff, Enduros.

Email newsletter signup

Recipients of special achievement awards included:


  • Late Models: J.T. Jackson, Rookie of the Year, and Shayne Lockhart, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Modifieds: Danny Harrell, Rookie of the Year, and Mike Rudy, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Grand Stocks: Shawn Scovel, Rookie of the Year, and Carl Livingston, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Super Streets: Jim Bennett, Rookie of the Year, and Larry Venable, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • INEX Legends: Connor Hall, Rookie of the Year, and Steve Keesee, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Super Trucks: Jacob Carr, Rookie of the Year, and Troy Turnage, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • UCARs: Jason Michaud, Rookie of the Year, and Sammy Gaita, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Pro Sixes: Landon Florian, Rookie of the Year, and Steve Williams, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • HRKC Pro Winged Champ Karts: Matthew Dail, Rookie of the Year, and Chris O’Brien, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • INEX Bandoleros: Ryleigh Lemonds, Rookie of the Year, and Bradley Wilson, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Enduros: Robert Larkin, Rookie of the Year and Larry Drommerhausen, Outstanding Sportsmanship
  • Also, Harry Lockett of Mike Rudy’s No. 8 crew in the Modified division picked up NASCAR Mechanic of the Year honors.