College board members named

Published 7:01 pm Saturday, June 29, 2013

Paul D. Camp Community College has announced its new officers for the Local College Board for 2013-14.

Richard Brooks of Suffolk will serve as the new chair, and Lynn Jones of Isle of Wight will serve as chair-elect. Patricia Sowell is the outgoing chair.

“We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable individuals who serve us so graciously and have such a genuine interest in education and the community,” PDCCC President Paul Conco said.


Email newsletter signup

Other continuing members of the Local College Board are: A. Meredith Felts Jr., Kisha Watford and Syretha Wright of Southampton County; June Fleming and Asa Johnson of Franklin; James Samuel Glasscock and Kermit Hobbs of Suffolk; Caroline Hurt and Patricia Sowell of Isle of Wight; and Dorcas Helfant-Browning of Virginia Beach, the liaison from the Virginia State Board of Community Colleges.

In addition, two new appointments to the board were made during the June 17 meeting. Philip Page Jr., executive director of the Franklin Redevelopment and Housing Authority, and Donald Mills, owner, president and general manager of Mills Marine & Ship Repair, will fill the seats of J. Patrick Newman of Franklin and Jean Copeland of Suffolk, respectively.

Newman and Copeland’s terms expired June 30.

Also, June Fleming was appointed liaison of the 2013-2014 PDCCC Local College Board, a position that was held by outgoing board member J. Patrick Newman. The liaison serves as a contact between the Local College Board and the PDCCC Foundation Board.