Two receive Tech scholarship

Published 9:03 pm Saturday, August 10, 2013

Two local students have been awarded the Pamplin Leadership Award at the Pamplin College of Business at Virginia Tech for the 2013-14 academic year.

Megan S. Hall, of Smithfield, and Aaron J. Weisenburger, of Windsor, received the honor.

Hall, who graduated from Smithfield High School in 2013, will be majoring in human development at College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences at Virginia Tech.


Email newsletter signup

Weisenburger, who graduated from Windsor High School in 2013, will be majoring in general engineering at College of Engineering at Virginia Tech.

The Pamplin Leadership Award is presented annually to one qualified student from each public high school in the Commonwealth of Virginia and is open to any student that applies to Virginia Tech. It is a one-year academic merit-based scholarship.

Virginia Tech’s nationally ranked Pamplin College of Business offers undergraduate and graduate programs in accounting and information systems, business information technology, economics, finance, hospitality and tourism management, management and marketing. It is named in honor of two alumni, the late Robert B. Pamplin, retired CEO of Georgia-Pacific, and businessman and philanthropist Robert B. Pamplin Jr.