Claar takes victory at Langley

Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 5, 2013

Outside pole starter Mark Claar took the lead on the opening circuit and roared to his fourth victory of the season in a 75-lapper for the Pepsi Grand Stocks, the featured event of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Mark Frye was the fast qualifier, at 80.599 mph. He spun a 6 on the inversion wheel, however, and dropped to the outside of Row 3.

Brandon Hinson assumed the pole position, flanked by Claar.

Email newsletter signup

As the race got under way, Claar leaped into the lead and never looked back, weathering five caution periods en route to Victory Lane.

The event ended with a 16-lap sprint to the finish as Claar and Hinson held down the top two spots.

Back under green, Claar quickly established a comfortable margin, while Hinson gave chase.

Little by little, Hinson gnawed away at the leader’s advantage and, at the white flag, they were nose-to-tail.

Hinson couldn’t muster a winning pass on the final circuit, though, and Claar held on to win by a car-length.

Ricky Derrick was third to the line and clinched his fifth straight Grand Stock crown.

Tommy Sweeney and Frye completed the top five rundown.

Sean Calway snagged the top spot on lap 43 and rolled to his fourth victory in the 50-lap Butterfoss & Barton Orthodontics Super Street race.

Sammy Gaita, who led laps 1-6 and 18-42, was second, four lengths back. Randy Akers finished third, followed by Landon Abbott and Marty Tice.

Combined with John Pereira’s ninth-place result, Calway’s win vaulted him back into the division lead.

Fast qualifier T.J. Guthrie moved out front on lap 2 and sailed to his first win in the 40-lap points finale for the Standard Welding Pro Sixes.

Bobby Hall was second, more than half a straightaway behind. Casey Sipe was third, while Landon Florian sealed his second straight Pro Six title with a fourth-place finish. Travis Wall rounded out the top five.

Kevin Morgan took the lead for good on lap 12 and showed the way to his first victory in a 35-lapper for the Carroll’s Automotive UCARs.

Tim Wilson, who led laps 5-11, was the runner-up, two lengths back, followed by Jon Largena, Thomas Marks and Jason Michaud.

Jacob Carr started on the pole and led all the way for his first win in the Larry King Law Super Truck race, which was called one lap shy of the scheduled 25-lap distance.

Robbie Davis was second and wrapped up the division title. Chase McAdams was third, followed by Colby Vance.

Chris Munger was shown in fifth, despite overturning on the backstretch on what would have been lap 25.