New PTK members inducted

Published 9:02 pm Saturday, November 30, 2013

Paul D. Camp Community College’s Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was held Friday, Nov. 1, with nearly 40 students being inducted into the honor society.

Held at the Regional Workforce Development Center in Franklin, the ceremony featured Jillian Overby as mistress of ceremonies. Overby, communications professor, serves as co-advisor of PTK at the college, along with Troy Hand, librarian.

The following students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society:

Email newsletter signup

Justin Armstrong, Cynthia Artis, Chelsey Austin, Jay Baines, Amber Ballance, Brittany Black, Jacob Bradshaw, Christa Clark, Brandelyn Clary, Mary Copes, Shawn Daniels, Jack Davis, Amanda Douglas, Taylor Felts, Nathan Gonda, Jessica Haydu, Capria Jones, Raquel Jones, Madalyn Kimlick, Jerrell King, Alexandra Kokich, Stephanie Love, Emily Lumley, Victoria Marks, Vikki Mottley, Chris Munford, Tiffany Newby, John Ritter, Roman Shields, Kendra Silver, Kenya Smith, Fred Spratley, Alona Stephens-Jones, Samson Stratton, Christina Wells and Chasity Wiggins.

Dr. Tara Atkins-Brady, vice president of academic and student development, and Carol Wright, professor of nursing, provided remarks. Martin Carr, PTK president, introduced guest speaker Ida Thompson, who is the 2013 Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, Valley Proteins Fellow and PTK alum.

Members of the chapter will be busy this year with a coat drive and other planned projects.

In addition, a new slate of officers was recently elected to serve the organization in the upcoming year. They are: Martin Carr, president; Emily Lumley, vice president of service; Alexandra Kokich, vice president of fundraising; Jacob Bradshaw, vice president of fellowship; Kenya Smith, public relations officer; and Amanda Sowerby, historian.