More from Suffolk set for AAU Jr. Olympics

Published 8:32 pm Thursday, July 3, 2014

Many Suffolk athletes competed at the 2014 Amateur Athletic Union Region 5 track and field championship over the weekend at Lakeland High School. Those who were members of the Suffolk New Energy Running Club that performed well enough to qualify for the 2014 AAU Junior Olympic Games were reported in Thursday’s edition. Following are a list of Suffolk athletes who were not part of Suffolk New Energy, but also qualified in individual events by placing either among the top five in a field event or top eight in a track event:

Male qualifiers

  • 11-year-old shot put (6 lbs.): Jahkeim Artis
  • 11-year-old discus throw (1.0 Kg.): Jahkeim Artis
  • 11-year-old 1500-meter race walk: Donovan Gill
  • 12-year-old javelin throw turbo (400 g): Ramir Askew
  • 13-year-old 100-meter hurdles: Grant Gill
  • 13-year-old long jump: Grant Gill
  • 13-year-old outdoor pentathlon: Grant Gill
  • 14-year-old discus throw (1.0 Kg): Brandon Eley

Female qualifiers

  • 8-and-under javelin throw turbo (300 g): Lauryn McGlone
  • 9-year-old 100-meter dash: Janajah Artis
  • 9-year-old 200-meter dash: De’Ryah Artis
  • 11-year-old shot put (6 lbs.): Kamryn Whitley
  • 11-year-old discus throw (1.0 Kg): Kamryn Whitley
  • 11-year-old javelin throw turbo (400 g): Kamryn Whitley and Kayla Morris
  • 12-year-old shot put (6 lbs.): Michela Brown
  • 12-year-old discus throw (1.0 Kg): Michela Brown
  • 12-year-old javelin throw turbo (400 g): Michela Brown
  • 13-year-old 100-meter dash: Loren Biggs
  • 13-year-old 200-meter dash: Jazmine Tilmon
  • 13-year-old long jump: Jazmine Tilmon
  • 14-year-old javelin throw (600 g): Ayanna Harris
  • 17- and 18-year-old 100-meter hurdles: Shakirah Allen
  • 17- and 18-year-old 400-meter hurdles: Shakirah Allen
  • 17- and 18-year-old pole vault: Courtney James

Email newsletter signup

The Suffolk Stars Track Club also fielded a 10-year-old girls’ 4×100-meter relay team that qualified by placing among the top four teams in the event.