Perera named top superintendent

Published 3:10 pm Saturday, July 18, 2015

Former Isle of Wight County Schools Superintendent Dr. Katrise Perera has been named the 2015-2016 National Association of School Superintendents Superintendent of the Year.



Perera was selected as one of only five 2015 finalists recognized by the association. Upon receiving the news of the award, Perera graciously shared credit with the team that helped her elevate the school division to soaring heights.

“While it is a great honor to be recognized by NASS as the 2015 National Superintendent of the Year, it’s also humbling to know that as a superintendent, nothing is ever accomplished alone,” Perera said. “I feel blessed to be able to accept this prestigious award for service to our country’s most precious resource — our children — and I dedicate it to the outstanding teamwork witnessed in the school division of the board members, teachers, leadership team and many community stakeholders.”

Email newsletter signup

Perera is characterized as “an indomitable crusader leveraging teamwork to found a progressive global learning environment” by the association.

Her commitment to student success is evident in the significant gains made in academic achievement during her tenure. The school division has an on-time graduation rate of 93 percent that surpasses the state average and is now ranked 15th out of more than 100 school districts in the state of Virginia. Under her leadership, all schools in the division earned accreditation each year by Virginia Standards of Learning, and individual schools received numerous accolades, such as the Virginia Go Green Public Schools Platinum Award, Title I Distinguished School Award, and a National Blue Ribbon Award of Excellence. She also led the successful launch of the school division’s one-to-one iPad initiative as part of the iSLE 21 technology program.

The annual award recognizes extraordinary leadership and accomplishments among school superintendents across the country. Selections are based on three primary criteria: outstanding achievement as a superintendent, demonstrated belief in continuous improvement, and commitment to collaboration in the profession. For more details about the NASS Superintendent of the Year program, visit