Committee to award scholarship

Published 7:39 pm Saturday, October 24, 2015

The L.D. Britt, MD Scholarship Committee will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Scholarship Fund Dinner at 7 p.m. Oct. 29 at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

Dr. Britt, a native and resident of Suffolk, is the Henry Ford Professor and Edward J. Brickhouse Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Eastern Virginia Medical School.

In addition to Britt, the keynote speaker is Dr. Shannon Walker, the 2011 Britt Scholar. She graduated from Princeton University and continued her studies at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where she graduated with honors in the Alpha Omega society in May 2015.

Email newsletter signup

At the dinner, this year’s scholarship to medical school will be awarded to a deserving student. In addition, the 2015 L.D. Britt, MD Community Service Award will be presented to three recipients: Dr. Lucy Gibney, Charlie W. Hill and CVS Health.