Local, unopposed races Tuesday

Published 10:01 pm Thursday, October 29, 2015

A number of elections Suffolk voters will find on the ballot this Tuesday are uncontested or local races.

Only a small sliver of North Suffolk has contested races, covered in the related story.

For the rest of Suffolk, voters in the 14th and 18th Senate districts will be able to vote for incumbents John Cosgrove (R) and Louise Lucas (D), respectively.

Email newsletter signup

No races are contested for any of Suffolk’s House of Delegates seats. Rick Morris (R-64), Chris Jones (R-76), Lionell Spruill Sr. (D-77) and Matthew James (D-80).

On the local side, Commissioner of the Revenue Susan L. Draper is running unopposed for the first time in a special election. She was appointed to fill the term of Thomas Hazelwood, who retired a year ago.

Finally, Richard A. Gwaltney and Travis W. Williams are running for Soil and Water Conservation Director for the Peanut District.

Suffolk voters can visit sbe.virginia.gov or call 514-7750 for election information.