East Suffolk High School alumni award scholarships

Published 8:05 pm Saturday, August 27, 2016

The East Suffolk High School Alumni Association has awarded scholarships to three recent graduates from Suffolk Public Schools and two from other localities who are alumni descendants.

The ESHSAA scholarships are funded by the alumni, supporters and friends of the alumni association. Two of the graduates received the Joyce A. Artis Memorial Scholarship, which is funded through donations from the late Joyce A. Artis. She was a 1966 graduate of John F. Kennedy High School.

The Joyce A. Artis Memorial Scholarships, $1,500 each, were awarded to Joshua Malcolm Bush and Darius Jordan Whitehurst.

Email newsletter signup

Bush is a graduate of King’s Fork High School and will be attending East Carolina University. He is the son of Sherry Bush. Whitehurst is a graduate of Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School, Norfolk, and will be attending Virginia Union University. He is the son of Jeanetta Whitehurst.

Scholarships of $1,000 each were awarded to three additional students.

Kiera Nicole Rountree is a graduate of Lakeland High School and will be attending Hampton University. She is the daughter of Gregory and Melleasenah Rountree. Nikko Zachariah Butler is a graduate of Bowie High School, Md. He received the W.L. Turner Scholarship. Butler will be attending Bowie State University. He is the son of Darryl Butler and Sandra Clemons-Butler. Tahj Anthony Faulk is a graduate of Nansemond River High School. He will be attending Virginia State University or Hampton University. He is the son of Buffie Faulk.

Each recipient demonstrates exemplary performance through academic, essay, school, community and church activities. The 2017 scholarship applications will be available in the school’s guidance office and the East Suffolk Recreation Center by February 2017. Further information is available from the committee members: Priscilla Hyman-Benn, Carol Bemory Diggs, Ella Porter Ward, Marian Bemory Wright and Mary Sebron Steverson, chairperson. Almeta Barnes Smith is president.