Bulldogs dominate all-district teams

Published 10:17 pm Friday, November 17, 2017

After winning their first Southeastern District title in school history, the Bulldogs headline the postseason honors for the district.

King’s Fork High School finished their regular season with a 9-1 record. Because of such a historic season, the Bulldogs have plenty of representatives on the all-district teams.

Darran Butts led the way for the Bulldogs, as he was selected Offensive Player of the Year and was a first team running back. Butts led the district in rushing yards and added 20-plus touchdowns. Coach Scottie Littles was named Co-Coach of The Year, along with Deep Creek High School’s Andre Twine.

Email newsletter signup

Outside of Butts, King’s Fork had three other players make the first team for offense. Justin German, Cherrod Joe and Jaylon Grant were all selected to the first team.

Lakeland High School and Nansemond River High School combined for four players on the offensive first team. Deondre Little was a first team wide receiver for the Cavs, and Cameron Stitmon was a first team tight end for the Warriors. Evan Lomax and Rashaad Williams were first team special teamers as the kicker and a returner, respectively, for Nansemond River.

On the first team defense, the Bulldogs added four more players to the list. Treyshaun Mitchell and Dennis Whitehead were selected as the defensive linemen, while Chris Shearin and T.J. Hart were selected as defensive backs. For Lakeland, DeAndre Faulk was selected as a first team linebacker. Gerard Stringer earned a selection at linebacker for the Warriors.

Harlen St. Louis and D.J. Jackson of Nansemond River, along with Mekhai Whitaker of King’s Fork, made up the second team offensive line. Bulldog Sam Dunn was named a second team receiver, and Warrior Kevin Johnson was named a second team all-purpose player.

Five Suffolk players were selected to the second team defense. King’s Fork had Jayree Hardy, Devin Chambliss, Shearin and Dunn named to the second team defense. Shearin was selected as a punt returner and Dunn, an all-purpose player. Warrior Pheldarius Payne was named a defensive lineman.

Suffolk also had six honorable mention players. Lakeland had two with Damonta Hawkins and Tyriq Rawlings. Nansemond River had two in Quijoun Gordon and JaQuelle Harrell. King’s Fork had two in Payton Fallen and Bryan Walker.