Students named to All-District

Published 5:19 pm Saturday, February 17, 2018

Dozens of Suffolk Public Schools students were selected to All-District in their respective areas, according to a press release.

Students will represent SPS in concert in February, and upon completion of their all-district activities will be eligible for All-Virginia auditions, in accordance with the standards sets by the Virginia Music Education Association as part of the National Association for Music education. Selection to All-District is an esteemed honor for any music student, as they are assessed by national standards for excellence in music education and performance.

The following students were selected


Email newsletter signup

All-District Orchestra

4From Forest Glen Middle School, directed by LaToya Albritton: Morgan Pulley (cello)

4From John Yeates Middle School, directed by Linda Hurwitz: Damien Abdelshaheed (cello), Olivia Alt (violin), Dahlia Jensen (cello)

4From King’s Fork High School, directed by Sara Jordan: Mariam Abdelshaheed (viola)

All-District Choir

4From John Yeates Middle School, directed by Laurie Curtis: Sydney Purnell

4From King’s Fork High School, directed by James Harris: Anna Hobbs, Te’Wan Hailes

4From Lakeland High School, directed by Jaielle Manning: Miah Wilson, Ciya Draper, Trinity Whitehead and Ty’Shaun Harris (alternate)

4From Nansemond River High School, directed by Dr. Joleen Neighbours: Adriana Roman, Janelle Atkins, Christlynn Dixon, MaKayla McNeal, Felicia Josey, Rachel Fischer (alternate), Conner Workman, Christopher Short (alternate), Vienne Aberle, Alex Sutton, Sydney McCown, Jordan Wilson, Noah Maddrey, Isiah Branch, Elijah Jones

All-District Band

4From King’s Fork High School, directed by Bernard Bradley: Akira Goden (clarinet), Kalaysia Munford (clarinet), Jennifer McCulloch (clarinet), Verrell Mayfield (clarinet), Kendi Moore (clarinet), Tony Artis (baritone sax), Matthew Chamberlain (trumpet), Bria Taylor (trumpet), Donte White (trumpet), Ryan McCulloch (trumpet), Joseph Hayes (trombone), Zackary Muench (baritone), Marcus Depart (tuba-alternate), Crystal Tysinger (percussion)