Academic Announcements

Published 6:43 pm Saturday, May 19, 2018

Old Dominion University has announced its fall 2017 dean’s list.

The following Suffolk students were honored:

  • Chiamaka I. Akujuobi
  • Erin Arledge
  • Taja P. Arthurs
  • Tori A. Arthurs
  • Naya A. Ashley
  • Raven M. Askew
  • Roberto S. Austin
  • Timothy W. Baker
  • Kaneesha R. Ballard
  • Michaela Banks
  • Paris C. Bogle
  • Sean P. Brophy
  • Charisse Castinado
  • Nathaniel Chandler
  • Alexis S. Coleman
  • Chandlar D. Coleman
  • Kourtney A. Collins
  • Nia N. Cook
  • Maya L. Copeland
  • Marina L. Cortez
  • Alexis C. Davis
  • Eric Q. Deir
  • Jennifer P. Diazdelvalle
  • Kaitlin M. Didomenico
  • Robert W. Doerner
  • Brandon T. Drayton
  • Kimberly J. Early
  • Jasmyne D. Eley
  • Daisy Estep
  • Andrew J. Evans
  • Christiana L. Fernandez
  • Joseph A. Ficklen
  • Martyna A. Foltz
  • Elizabeth Fowler
  • Melissa Friederichs
  • Haley Fuller
  • Tanjaneta M. Gardner
  • Raghyn A. Gibbs
  • Cindy R. Gordon
  • Jake A. Grady
  • Anaya J. Gray
  • Jacob Hall
  • Kathryn N. Hannan
  • Felicia Hardee
  • Alyssa R. Harney
  • Jakea T. Harris
  • Caitlyn C. Heath
  • Chelsea W. Heimann
  • Magali A. Henderson
  • Alexis V. Hernandez
  • Larlyn H. Hinkle
  • Bryan Holland
  • Susan V. Hundley
  • Brianna S. Ivey
  • Stephanie Jen
  • Nathan Jentink
  • Courtney S. Johnson
  • Dasia Johnson
  • Stephen V. Johnson
  • Sade S. Jones
  • Madeline G. Keller
  • Tiarra D. Kelly
  • Daniel T. Kent
  • Angel A. Knight
  • Heather C. Kraffert
  • Nicole M. La Vertue
  • Erica D. Lawton
  • Jamie S. Lentini
  • Sean G. Leonard
  • Kelly N. Lester
  • Maya C. Lewis
  • Charles E. Logan
  • Elizabeth M. Maksimovich
  • Aiysha I. Malik
  • Vladimir Marinov
  • Richard A. Mason
  • Jessica E. McCarty
  • Emily F. McCown
  • Ashley Midgette
  • Amy K. Nordmeyer
  • Heather L. Nygaard
  • Kim V. Orange
  • Andrew P. Owens
  • Lauren V. Palmer
  • Mariah Palmer
  • Rachel Patterson
  • Skyla L. Patterson
  • Shannon M. Pellerito
  • Priscilla S. Perez
  • Ashley M. Pett
  • Caryelle T. Pierce
  • Ivon L. Portellez
  • Michael T. Quirin
  • Stephanie R. Ragan
  • Michelle A. Robertson
  • Kirah M. Robinson
  • Tiffany M. Rombs
  • Sharneisha C. Savage
  • Cordaysha Y. Scott
  • Ricky R. Scott
  • Deontae Sears
  • Takima L. Simmons
  • Shanice M. Smith
  • Meredith R. Stielow
  • Rachel R. Strandell
  • Brooke E. Street
  • Janis Sweet
  • Janell C. Underdue
  • Kristen Vick
  • Emily K. Walker
  • Jessica N. Williams
  • Charles L. Willis
  • Drequan L. Wilson
  • Devin C. Winslow
  • Shannon L. Wolfe
  • Shannon L. Wood
  • Kenneth P. Workman
  • Yuchen Zhang

Archer among fall 2017 graduates of Fort Hays State University

Lauren Nicole Archer, of Suffolk, was among the 840 who completed degrees at Fort Hays State University, Hays, Kan., in the fall 2017 semester.

Archer received a Bachelor of Business Administration in marketing.


Email newsletter signup

The university conferred a total of 246 graduate degrees (master’s and education specialists) and 594 undergraduate degrees.

Chowan inducts 23 into Alpha Chi

The North Carolina Phi chapter of the Alpha Phi Honor Society tapped 26 students for membership in early January 2018. The induction ceremony took place March 21, 2018, in Vaughan Auditorium at Chowan University. Accepting the nomination were 23 students.

James Andrew Fournier, of Suffolk, was among the nominees.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational academic national honor society that admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors and graduate students.

Chowan inducts 77 to Alpha Lambda Delta

The Chowan University Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta, first year honor society, tapped 95 members in January 2018. The induction ceremony was held Sunday, March 18, 2018. Shannon Williams, associate director of accounting, delivered the keynote address prior to inducting the 77 new members who accepted.

Among the inductees were:

  • Alajah Gray, of Suffolk
  • Gabrielle Vines, of Carrollton

Graham inducted to Phi Kappa Phi

Joshua Graham, of Suffolk, was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Graham was initiated at George Mason University.

Graham is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Jones named to Belmont dean’s list

Jordan Jones, of Suffolk, qualified for the Spring 2018 dean’s list at Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn. Eligibility is based on a minimum course load of 12 hours and a quality grade point average of 3.5 with no grade below a C.

Approximately 30 percent of Belmont’s 8,080 students qualified for the Spring 2018 dean’s list.

Gregory graduates from Bridgewater

Shelby Gregory, of Suffolk, earned a degree in athletic training from Bridgewater College during the commencement ceremony on May 5.

Bridgewater announces dean’s list

The dean’s list for the spring semester at Bridgewater College has been announced by Dr. Leona A. Sevick, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Students on the dean’s list have attained a 3.4 or better grade point average out of a possible 4.0.

The following Suffolk students earned dean’s list recognition:

  • Christopher DeFreeuw, a junior majoring in music
  • Shelby Gregory, a senior majoring in athletic training
  • Emilia Tumminello, a sophomore majoring in biology

Peoples inducted to Alpha Chi

Barton College’s North Carolina Gamma Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society recently welcomed 20 new members during the spring 2018 induction ceremony earlier spring semester.

The inductees included Nikita Peoples, of Suffolk, who is pursuing a Master of Science in Nursing.

Students with a grade point average of 3.5 or better in the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes are eligible for induction. The minimum grade point average for this induction class was 3.65.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational society whose purpose is to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.  Its name derives from the initial letters of the Greek words meaning truth and character.

Kerr graduates from University of Kansas

The names of more than 5,000 candidates for degree from the University of Kansas this spring have been announced by the University Registrar. Degrees are officially conferred in June.

Danielle Jeanne Kerr, of Suffolk, earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.