School board, City Council candidates announced

Published 5:23 pm Saturday, June 16, 2018

The list of 2018 candidates running for City Council and the School Board has been published on the city’s website.

Mike Duman, Chuckatuck Borough, Leroy Bennett, Cypress Borough, and Tim Johnson, Holy Neck Borough, are the current incumbents for their Boroughs and they are running unchallenged.

Two of the incumbents, Duman and Bennett, have sat on City Council longer than one term. Duman has been a member of City Council since 2010, and Bennett has been a member since 1996, serving as a councilman and Vice Mayor.

Email newsletter signup

Johnson has served one term after being elected in 2014.

Donald Goldberg, the incumbent for the Suffolk Borough, is the only councilman currently running opposed. Goldberg has served only one term after being elected in 2014.

Art Bredemeyer will run against Goldberg. Bredemeyer ran for mayor in 2012, and he came in third place behind Linda Johnson and Bennett.

Four seats are open for the Suffolk School Board, and no incumbents will be vying to keep their spots.

Diane Foster and Sherri Story are running for the Chuckatuck Borough seat. Foster was previously on the school board representing the Sleepy Hole Borough before moving to another part of Suffolk.

Story recently retired this year from King’s Fork High School, and she worked with Suffolk Public Schools for 12 years.

In the Cypress Borough, a three-way race will take place between former NAACP branch president Costellar Ledbetter, Suffolk Parents for School Safety president Jennifer Brennon, and Karen Jenkins, a Western Tidewater Community Services Board mental health skill builder and behavior specialist counselor in the schools.

In the Holy Neck Borough, there are two candidates running – Lorita Mayo and Sonya Allen. Mayo is a retired educator that has worked in Chesapeake and Suffolk.

Thelma Hinton will be running again for a spot on the School Board in the Suffolk Borough. Hinton originally sat on the board representing the Nansemond Borough, but she lost her seat due to redistricting.

Tyrone Riddick will be running against Hinton for the Suffolk Borough seat.