Order of candidates for convention announced

Published 6:13 pm Friday, April 16, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Republican Party of Virginia on Thursday announced the order of candidates that will appear on the ballot during the party’s May 8 state convention.

The deadline for Republicans in Suffolk to register to participate has already passed.

The candidates in ballot order are:

Email newsletter signup


Glenn A. Youngkin

Amanda Freeman Chase

A. Kirkland “Kirk” Cox

Peter Doran

Sergio de la Pena

Peter A. “Pete” Snyder

Octavia L. Johnson

Lieutenant Governor

Lance R. Allen

Timothy D. “Tim” Hugo

Maeve T. Rigler

Glenn R. Davis Jr.

Puneet Ahluwalia

Winsome E. Sears

Attorney General

C.L. “Chuck” Smith Jr.

Jason S. Miyares

Jack White

Leslie Haley

Democrats will select their candidates for the three statewide offices in a traditional primary on June 8. The deadline to register to vote in that primary is May 17.

The Democrats’ candidates are:


Jennifer D. Carroll Foy

Jennifer L. McClellan

Justin E. Fairfax

Lee J. Carter

Terry R. McAuliffe

Lieutenant Governor

Andria P. McClellan

Elizabeth R. Guzman

Hala S. Ayala

Mark H. Levine

S. “Sam” Rasoul

Sean A. Perryman

Xavier JaMar Warren

Attorney General

Jerrauld C. “Jay” Jones

Mark R. Herring