Suffolk Police honor own during awards ceremony

Published 5:33 pm Thursday, April 7, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Suffolk Police Department honored its own Tuesday during its annual awards ceremony held at City Hall.

The event is held to honor and recognize sworn and non-sworn members of the department, along with residents who have contributed to the success of the department and the service provided to the Suffolk community.

Special recognitions were presented for the dispatcher of the year, supervisor of the year, police officer of the year, field training officer of the year, and civilian employee of the year.

Email newsletter signup

“This awards ceremony is our chance to formally recognize the bravery, tenacity and commitment of our officers and staff,” said Mayor Mike Duman. “In addition, we’re afforded the opportunity to recognize citizens that have chosen to step forward to be involved and give unselfishly of themselves for their fellow citizens.”

The officers honored “exemplify what it means to be a member of the Suffolk Police Department,” but, he said, residents “should not lose sight of the unheralded work all of our officers do on a day-to-day basis.”

Communications Operator Samantha Kasecamp – Dispatcher of the Year

Kasecamp is regularly recognized by her coworkers and supervisors as being a model employee, a worker who is always willing to help out her coworkers and someone who is willing to take on overtime in order to make sure the emergency communications center is running and able to provide excellent service to city residents.

Sgt. Nicholas Gasparini – Supervisor of the Year

Gasparini was recognized by his supervisors and by the officers on his squad as a solid leader, a knowledgeable supervisor and a sergeant who brings a varied background to his patrol officers. His past experiences in the Neighborhood Enforcement Teams and the Special Investigations Unit allow him to provide investigative expertise to new and developing officers. He takes charge of fast-moving situations and is trusted by the officers under his command.

Master Police Officer Detective Shelly Koziana – Police Officer of the Year

For her dedicated and diligent work as a detective during 2021, investigating some of the city’s most violent crimes, Koziana was recognized by her supervisors and fellow detectives as a consummate professional who is willing to go the extra mile to make sure a crime is solved. Many violent crimes were cleared thanks to her hard work, and she has helped bring justice and closure to city residents.

Officer Daniel Currier – Field Training Officer of the Year

Currier was recognized by the supervisors in the field training program and by the new officers he has trained over the course of 2021. He is patient, provides good feedback, and is a wealth of knowledge to his trainees. He has helped shape the future officers of the Suffolk Police Department.

Kristen Dolan – Civilian Employee of the Year

Dolan works as the department’s social media and marketing professional. She has spearheaded multiple social media outreach projects, produced videos for various department units, and maintained all of the department’s social media accounts. She is often the first person people have contact with when they reach out to any of SPD’s online accounts. Her work has been exemplary during 2021.

Life-Saving Award

Lt. David Heroux, MPO Marcus Carter, MPO Benjamin Delugo, Officer James Chapman, Officer Jesse Fede, Officer Adrian Feliz, Officer Travis Gardner, Officer Judson Gauf, Officer Jalin Green, Officer Khandi Johnson, Officer Elizabeth Kellogg, Officer Payton Kerlee, Officer Veronica More, Officer Travis Reichmuth, Officer Kevin Southern, Officer Hailey White

Police Officer of the Quarter

Officer Michael Childs Jr., Officer Kristi Gaines, Officer Matthew Grice, MPO Det. Shelly Koziana

Department Commendations

Capt. Jesse Epperson, CACO Meghann McGillvray-Lanier, Sgt. Samantha Bradshaw, Sgt. Matthew Faubion, Sgt. Jason Lyons, MPO William Craig Jr., MPO Benjamin Delugo (2), MPO Paul Hutta (2), MPO Shane Sukowaski, MPO Michael Uriah, MPO Det. Joyce Williams, Det. Madison Cabell, Officer Michael Childs Jr., Officer Daniel Currier, Officer Branden Garrison, Officer David Green, Officer Zachary Hyman, Officer Danielle Jones, Officer Trent Marshall, Officer Elizabeth May, Officer Daniel Nesbitt (2), Officer Rosario Tumminello, ACO Kathleen McLendon, ECO Angelique Davis, ECO Kimberly Duncan, ECO Lindsey Holloman, ECO Shira Hunter, PRT Sandra Jackson, PRT Patrice Jones, PRT Shannon Long, PRT Jessica Raines, PRT Catherine Richards, PRT Darlene Tuttle, K9 Salvo (2)

Community Service Awards

Lt. Gary Myrick, Lt. Troy Shelton, MPO Nicole Heyward, MPO Paul Hutta, MPO Det. Shelly Koziana, Officer Travis Gardner, Officer Judson Gauf, Officer Matthew Grice, Officer Dazemone Joseph, Officer Marco Leslie, Officer Joshua Monson, For. Tech. Mary Delugo

Medal of Valor

Officer Zachary Hyman

Citizens Award

Jacob Barton, Amy Bedner, Erin Bush, Brandon Colbert, MFS Ashley Frescatore (HPD), Alister Ortiz, Chad Thompson, Cordell Waters