Suffolk Foundation awards $59,000 in scholarships 

Published 4:51 pm Friday, June 10, 2022

The Suffolk Foundation recently announced its 2022 academic scholarship awards totaling $59,000 to 18 recipients.

Since the foundation received its 501(c)(3) nonprofit community foundation status in October 2007, it has awarded over $5.6 million in unrestricted and donor-advised grants and scholarships.

The foundation scholarships support students continuing their education at colleges, universities or in trade schools and career certification programs. The scholarship funds are disbursed directly to the recipients’  college, university or trade school.


Email newsletter signup

The 2022 recipients are:

  • Allfirst Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Rachel Iman (Longwood University)
  • James M. Blair Memorial Scholarship ($5,000) – Alexis Olsen (Nansemond River High School, University of  South Carolina)
  • Ossie S. & Thomas F. Blair Jr. Memorial Scholarship ($5,000 each) – Amaya Allen (King’s Fork High School,  Old Dominion University); Octavia Jones (King’s Fork High School, College of William and Mary); Olivia Jones (King’s Fork High School, Princeton University); and Snow Chen (King’s Fork High School, University of Virginia)
  • Audrey B. Butler Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Maryam Mumuni (Norfolk State University)
  • Col. Fred V. Cherry Scholarship ($3,000) – Katelyn Johnson (Nansemond River High School, Norfolk State University)
  • Chuckatuck Volunteer Fire Department Scholarship ($7,500) – Lauren Howell (Isle of Wight Academy,  Tidewater Community College)
  • DiStasio Health Professions Scholarship ($2,000) – Brooke Howe (Lakeland, University of Virginia or University  of North Carolina – Chapel Hill)
  • William N. “Billy” Hill Scholarship ($2,000) – Abigail Lockhart (Nansemond River High School, University of  Lynchburg)
  • Howard D. Mast Memorial Scholarship ($5,000 each) – Abigail Conrod (Nansemond-Suffolk Academy, Liberty  University) and Emma Conrod (Nansemond-Suffolk Academy, University of Virginia or North Carolina State University)
  • Lewis F. Morris Memorial Scholarship ($1,500) – Chloe Lawrence (King’s Fork High School, Hampton or Old  Dominion University)
  • Amy Phelps Art Scholarship ($2,000) – Sophia Verhaeghe (Smithfield High School, Virginia Commonwealth  University)
  • Otha S. Rountree Memorial Scholarship for Nursing Education ($1,500) – Abigail Conrod (Nansemond-Suffolk Academy, Liberty University)
  • Suffolk Business Women’s Scholarship ($2,500) – Laurel Jones (homeschooled, James Madison University)

For additional information on the individual scholarships or to donate to a scholarship fund, visit