SPS announces new school appointments for SY2024-2025

Published 9:00 am Sunday, May 19, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

During its May 9 board meeting, the Suffolk Public School board announced new school appointments for the 2024-2025 school year. Among those announced were three new principals, four assistant principals, and three new administrators.

Three schools will have a new face at the top, as Dr. Shaka Miller assumes the role of principal at Hillpoint Elementary School, Dr. Sabrina Lee becomes the head of Kilby Shores Elementary School, and Johnetta Vaughan will serve as principal of College & Career Academy at Pruden.

The four assistant principals announced were Megan Eberhardt at Oakland Elementary School, Natalie Karakla at Southwestern Elementary School, Connie Burgess at John Yeates Middle School and Dr. Stephanie Cox at Nansemond River High School. 

Email newsletter signup

Likewise, new school administrative offices include Director of Special Education Casaundra McNair, Coordinator of Special Education Kimberly Warholak and School Safety Specialist Jud Wilson.

During the meeting, Miller, Lee, Warholak, Vaughan, McNair, and Wilson were individually announced by SPS Superintendent Dr. John B. Gordon III and invited to introduce themselves to the school community. Miller, a graduate of King’s Fork High School, addressed the board on being.

“So honored to be given this opportunity to be the new Principal of Hillpoint Elementary School, and I think that through my actions that you will see that this was the right decision to make,” Miller said. “Being a former graduate of Suffolk Public Schools is full circle for me: I went up through elementary, middle, high, came back and taught here and now, I am a principal, and this is just the next step on this ladder that I am climbing.”

Lee thanked Gordon, the board, and the Selection Committee for the opportunity to serve as Kilby Shores’ new principal.

“…I will make sure that I am impacting students in a great way. I am going to be encouraging and motivating them every single day to ensure that I am providing an inclusive and empowering environment for all students,” Lee said.

Warholak, a Nansemond River High School graduate, says that she is “thankful, grateful and honored” to use her skills to help build the best SPS. Reflecting on and thanking her influences, Vaughan says that every step has been “orchestrated by God.”

“My intent is to keep the legacy of innovation, creativity and passion alive through my leadership at CCAP,” Vaughan said. “I hope that the students, staff and community partners at CCAP are as excited as I am to ignite the journey to greatness. Thank you once again for this opportunity.”

McNair expressed being “elated” to help continue creating high achievers at all levels “regardless of the needs that they walk into our schools with.” 

Likewise, Wilson thanked everyone for the warm welcome to the team.

“I’ve had the opportunity to protect nuclear aircraft carriers, military installations and I am honored to add Suffolk Public Schools to that list,” Wilson said. “Very excited to work with everybody to make our schools as safe as they can be.”