Suffolk’s November 2024 ballot features key local races

Published 9:07 pm Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

SUFFOLK, Va.  — As the polls closed in the Virginia Primary election, so did the qualifying period for the upcoming local elections.

Suffolk’s Nov. 5, 2024, ballot includes the mayoral race, three school board seats, and three council seats all up for grabs. While we do not know the outcome, we do know the Suffolk Public School Board will look different, with two incumbents deciding not to seek reelection. Dr. Judith Brooks-Buck (Nansemond) and Phyliss Byrum (Whaleyville) announced they would not seek reelection in April.

For the Suffolk Public School Board, seats in the Nansemond, Sleepy Hole, and Whaleyville Boroughs will be on the ballot, with only one incumbent, Heather Howell (Sleepy Hole), vying for reelection. Howell will face opposition from Carly A. Bosco.  James E. Shores and Valerie B. Fields will face off for the Nansemond Borough seat, while a three-way race for Whaleyville will pit Sean P. McGee, Jonathan E. Rankin, and Thelma V. Hinton against each other.

Email newsletter signup

In the city council, seats in the Nansemond, Sleepy Hole, and Whaleyville Boroughs will be on the ballot. One incumbent, Lue Ward (Nansemond), faces no opposition. Sleepy Hole incumbent Roger Fawcett will see opposition from Ebony N. Wright, and Whaleyville incumbent LeOtis Williams will face opposition from Jason A. Wooldridge.

In the race for mayor, Mayor Michael D. Duman is seeking reelection and will have to fend off competition from David A. Bosselman and Clinton L. Jenkins in another three-way battle.


Nansemond Borough

Lue Ward (Incumbent)


Sleepy Hole Borough

Roger Fawcett (Incumbent)

Ebony N. Wright


Whaleyville Borough

LeOtis Williams (Incumbent)

Jason A. Wooldridge




Nansemond Borough

James E. Shores

Valerie B. Fields


Sleepy Hole Borough

Heather Howell (Incumbent)

Carly A. Bosco


Whaleyville Borough

Sean P. McGee

Jonathan E. Rankin

Thelma V. Hinton



Clinton L. Jenkins

Michael D. Duman

David A. Bosselman