Sorority presents two scholarships

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 14, 2002

Two area high school seniors received $500 each from a local sorority.

The Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship Committee announced recently that Elizabeth Ann Crocker and Megan Christine King are the recipients for the 28th annual presentation of Beta Sigma Phi General Scholarship Fund for 2002-2003, to be used at the school of their choice.

Both students are from Lakeland High School and have consistently maintained high grade point averages while holding part-time jobs. They also stayed involved in extracurricular activities while achieving many honors.

Email newsletter signup

Beta Sigma Phi sorority raises money every February for these scholarships by holding an annual Sweetheart Ball. All proceeds from this dance are used to fund these scholarships.

The 2002 scholarship Committee members were Joyce Carrol, chairperson; Diana Klink, Alpha Omicron; and Vickie Pinchback, Xi Delta Delta; JoAnne Harrell, Xi Beta Iota; Leslie Keys, Preceptor Rho and Kaye Friedman, Alpha Lambda Laurette.