Izaak Walton League elects officers, honors member

Published 12:00 am Saturday, September 28, 2002

The Izaak Walton League of America recently elected officers and board members for 2002-2003, and a distinguished award was also presented to a prominent and dedicated member. These activities took place at Kings’ Fork Community House during the chapter’s September meeting.

Robert Barnhill was presented the Tobin Award by the National Director Mike Lane. This is given annually to a member of each local chapter who has contributed his time and talents over a long period of time.

Barnhill has been a member of the organization for 25 years, and has been involved as co-chairman of the Park Committee, treasurer of the chapter and other activities of the Suffolk-Nansemond Chapter.

Email newsletter signup

New officers were installed by the president of the Virginia Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Julian T. Bolton from Centerville.

They are: Jim Pritchard, president; Darren Stauffer, first vice president; H.J. Miller, second vice president; Bill Schlaffer Jr., secretary; Bob Barnhill, treasurer; Roland Greene, asst. treasurer; Forrest Cathey, Registered Agent; Will Haas, State Director; and Bill Ashley, Ex-Officio.

Board of Directors elected were as follows: three years, Jimmy Fanney, Mills March, and Kenneth Marshall; two years, Mike Lane, Forrest Cathey, and Pwane Paitsel; and one year, Mitchell Norman, Lawrence Watson, and Leslie Nelms.

Cindy Lane chose not to be considered to serve because of her work with the Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge.

George Madison has left the area and needed to be replaced for the term of one year beginning Oct. 1 and for the remainder of the year. Therefore, Nelms was elected to serve in his place for this time.

The local chapter of the Suffolk-Nansemond Chapter has 68 members, the Virginia Division has 7,711 chapter members, and 374 members at large in 23 chapters in Virginia.