Maus voted top

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 15, 2002

Division 3 football coach

By Jason Norman

Brain Maus, who took a Nansemond River football team from a 3-17 record over his first two seasons to an 8-2 2002, was voted Division Three football coach of the year by the Division’s fellow coaches last Tuesday.

Email newsletter signup

Highlights of the past season included a 28-12 victory over cross-town rival Lakeland, and Maus’ first wins over Hickory, Great Bridge, Oscar Smith, and Deep Creek (the Warriors’ 28-14 defeat of the Hornets on Oct. 11 was the first-ever defeat of the Hornets by a Suffolk team).

&uot;It’s always nice when your peers think that you’ve done a good job,&uot; said Maus. &uot;I wasn’t surprised by our success this season. I knew we had potential, we just needed to put it together.&uot;

Several players on the Nansemond River team were also awarded for their accomplishments on the field. All-District First Team members included:

Jason Kressen, guard

Trayce McPherson, running back

Chris Hardy, lineman

Dominic Scott, linebacker

James Capehart, defensive back

Second team Warriors:

Dexter Bailey, offensive tackle

Dennis Conley, tight end and defensive end

Terrell Artis, wide out and kick returner

Eric Berry, linebacker

Honorable mentions:

Dominic Strand, quarterback

Milton Shambley, center

Several members of the 2002 Lakeland team were honored as well. First team Cavaliers:

Denzel Mack, wide out (Mack also made the second team as a linebacker)

Travis Miller, defensive back (Miller also made the second team as a quarterback)

Second team Cavaliers

Charles Manley, lineman

Chase Nelson, punter

Honorable mentions:

Kenneth Reid, tight end

Daniel Copeland, defensive end