Nominations requested for Athena award

Published 12:00 am Saturday, December 14, 2002

Staff report

The Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce, Suffolk Division, and Duke Automotive are pleased to announce their joint sponsorship of the 2002 Athena Award in Suffolk.

Nominations are now being accepted for the award, which will be presented on Feb. 27, 2003 during the Suffolk Division Annual Meeting at Nansemond-Suffolk Academy. The winner will be an individual who has achieved excellence in his or her business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way, and has assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential.

Email newsletter signup

The Athena Award, created for the Chamber of Commerce in Lansing, Michigan in 1982, has expanded to over 375 cities in the United States, Russia, and Canada. It is presented in the form of a hand-cast stylized bronze sculpture symbolizing the strength, courage and wisdom of the recipient.

The Suffolk recipient will be invited to join the over 2,700 other recipients all over the world who have received the award over the past 20 years and who are afforded the opportunity to become a part of the Athena Foundation’s international network of leaders. Past winners have been such outstanding leaders in the Suffolk community as:

Gail Pruden

Fan Panton

Lula Holland

Ruby Walden

Pat Williams

Dr. Margaret Reid

Peggy S. Wade

Fran Alwood

Sarah Walden

Sunny Dixon

Nancy F. Russell

Lorraine B. Skeeter

Virginia &uot;Jinks&uot; Babey

Betsy Brothers

The Athena Award Program is nationally underwritten by the Oldsmobile/Pontiac/GMC divisions of General Motors, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company and National City Corporation. Local sponsorship is provided by Duke Automotive.

Nomination forms may be obtained from Jinks Babey at the office of Virginia Graphic Design, 1013 W. Washington St. or from the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce, Suffolk Division office, at 1001 W. Washington St.

The deadline for submission of the nominations is January 10, 2003. Please get nominations in as early as possible, in case there is any missing information that must be obtained. For more information, contact Jinks Babey at 934-1521, or Summer Timberlake at 664-2611.