Suffolk schools salute top teachers

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 19, 2003

Forest Glen teacher recognized as best in city

Congratulations to Maryland Roberts, an eighth-grade teacher at Forest Glen Middle School, who has been selected to represent Suffolk Public Schools in the 2003-04 Teacher of the Year recognition program. A 16-year classroom veteran, Ms. Roberts teaches Pre-Algebra and Algebra I. She serves as the CHROME Club sponsor at Forest Glen, and coaches the school’s MathCounts team.

The school division’s Elementary Teacher of the Year is Rosemary Klare, a 31-year veteran educator who coordinates the reading intervention program at Mack Benn Jr. Elementary School.

Email newsletter signup

The division’s High School Teacher of the Year is Elke Boone, a 12-year veteran who heads the math department at Lakeland High School and is a graduate of Suffolk Public Schools. The following teachers were also nominated to represent their schools in this recognition program:

— Amber Estep of B.T. Washington Elementary;

— Jessica Mayfield of Driver Elementary;

— Suzanne Johnson of Elephant’s Fork Elementary;

— Frances Robb of Florence Bowser Elementary

— Sadie Faulk of Kilby Shores Elementary;

— Beth Viser of Mount Zion Elementary;

— Celia Moore of Nansemond Parkway Elementary;

— Christine Lafferty of Northern Shores Elementary;

— Anne McCoy of Oakland Elementary;

— Zachelle Savage of Robertson Elementary;

— LuAnne LaPoint of Southwestern Elementary;

— Valerie Walton of John F. Kennedy Middle;

— Katherine Queen of King’s Fork Middle;

— Hope Hoggard of John Yeates Middle;

— Daketa Sawyer of Turlington Woods School; and

— Robert Brennan of Nansemond River High.

Best Rookie Teachers Named

Congratulations to Deborah Perry, fourth-grade teacher at Northern Shores Elementary School, who has been named the division-wide Rookie Teacher of the Year.

The following first-year teachers were selected by their schools as nominees for the award:

— Ginny Whitehead of Driver Elementary;

— Melissa Lassiter of Elephant’s Fork Elementary;

— Kristy Bowser of Florence Bowser Elementary;

— Susan Potter of Kilby Shores Elementary;

— Kimberly Bass of Mack Benn Jr. Elementary

— Heather Spivey of Mount Zion Elementary;

— Latashia Baker of Nansemond Parkway Elem.;

— Leticia Miller of Oakland Elementary;

— Elizabeth Blair of Robertson Elementary;

— Kellye Sollers of Southwestern Elementary;

— Jacqueline Anderson of Forest Glen Middle;

— Thomas Smith of John F. Kennedy Middle;

— Cynthia Holberton of John Yeates Middle;

— Dallas Williams of King’s Fork Middle;

— Sharon Priest of Turlington Woods;

— Scott Reed of Lakeland High; and

— Rudolph Edwards Jr. of

Nansemond River High.