Sorority announces contest winners

Published 12:00 am Saturday, March 22, 2003

The Rhomania Contest, sponsored by the Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc. Gamma Omega Sigma Chapter was held the evening of Feb. 22 in the fellowship hall of Greater First Baptist Church, Orlando.

A cultural program was presented consisting of talent by the contestants, the Male Chorus of Mt. Sinai Baptist Church, and Soror Marion H. Matthews, Christine Person and Benjamin Petway Jr.

First-place winner was Angelitta Britt of Chespeake. She will attend a local college and major in psychology with a minor in accounting.

Email newsletter signup

Second-place winner was Kory Walker-Lee of Franklin. He will attend Shaw University and major in special education with a minor in music.

Third-place winner was Danielle Benita Petway of Petersburg. She will attend Howard University and pursue a degree in law.

Officers of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority are Dianette H. Ferguson, president; Mary F. Whitley, vice president; Beverly D. Mason, financial secretary; Wanda D. Bates, secretary; Iness E. Taylor, treasurer; Della Wright, historian.

Other members are Lelia P. Baxter, Ella Dabney-Bynum, Ledora Everett, the Rev. Burnette D. Boone, Irma B. Hudgins, Mamie Martin-Ross, Marion H. Matthews, Louella L. Smith, and Madeleine W. Stokes.