Dickens? Ralph? Or someone else?

Published 12:00 am Thursday, July 1, 2004

Staff Report

The City Council’s new leadership team will be sworn into office this morning.

During the council’s re-organizational meeting at 11 a.m., reelected incumbents Vice Mayor Leroy Bennett, Councilman Curtis Milteer and Councilwoman Linda T. Johnson, who represent the Nansemond, Whaleyville and Sleepy Hole boroughs respectively, will be sworn in. On paper ballots, the council will then elect its leadership for the next two years.

Email newsletter signup

Top mayoral contenders are Mayor E. Dana Dickens III and Councilman Bobby Ralph. Vice Mayor Leroy Brown and Councilman Charles F. Brown are the leading candidates for vice mayor.

A reception at Riddick’s Folly will follow the investiture ceremony, and events are open to the public.