Suffolk substitute teachers celebrate13th anniversary

Published 12:00 am Friday, September 10, 2004

Editor, the News-Herald:

The beginner Suffolk Substitute Teachers Association was established in 1991 by Del. S. Chris Jones, Chuckatuck and Mr. John E. Jones, assistant principal of Lakeland High School. Co-founders are Mrs. Vivian Covington, principal of John F. Kennedy Middle School, and Mr. Eugene Davis, retired principal of John F. Kennedy Middle School.

nMr. William H. Goodman served as president.

Email newsletter signup

nMr. Benjamin Sharpe Jr. served as president.

nMr. David Cross served as president

nMrs. Neophia M. Ricketts served as president.

nMr. Lorenzo Preston served as president.

The beginner Suffolk Substitute Teachers Association approved that Dr. Freddie J. Wiggins be the founding representative of the Association.

Since 1991, Dr. Wiggins has traveled to the Virginia State Capitol to meet with Thomas A. Elliott, Ed.D of the Division Chief Compliance Coordination for the Virginia Department of Education.

Dr. Wiggins was successful and established a pay raise for all Suffolk substitute teachers when the regular classroom teachers receive their annual pay raises. He also has attended 97 percent of every school board meeting since 1991. After Mr. Lorenzo Preston served as president, the association was falling apart until Mrs. Rhonda Griffin nominated Dr. Wiggins to serve as president until we could bring it back together again.

I am hoping that we can continue working together in helping the students in Suffolk and do the best we can.

Freddie J. Wiggins, PH.D