The All-Herald field hockey team

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 26, 2004

Here is the 2004-05 All-News-Herald field hockey team, as selected by sports editor Jason Norman

First team:

Attackers: Ashley Aston (Nansemond River)

Email newsletter signup

Katelyn Yandle (Nansemond River)

Lindsay Cutchins (Lakeland) Midfielders: Heather Horton (Nansemond River)

Stephanie Owen (Lakeland)

Mary Rose (King’s Fork)

Defenders: Kathryn Babineau (King’s Fork)

Callie Peak (Nansemond-Suffolk Academy)

Ashley McCord (Lakeland)

Goalkeeper: Kelsey Cutchins (Lakeland)

Second team:

Attackers: Jessica Watahovich (Nansemond River)

Kristi Dwyer (King’s Fork)

Brandi Novak (King’s Fork) Midfielders: Chelsey Salmon (Lakeland)

Erin Rice (Nansemond River)

Megan Patterson (Nansemond-Suffolk Academy)

Defenders: Melissa Dunn (Lakeland)

Lindley Theroux (Nansemond River)

Lindsay Kelly (Lakeland)

Goalkeeper: Ashley Payton (King’s Fork)

Player of the Year: Katelyn Smither.

Oh, come on, who else could it be? Just as she did for the past three seasons, Smither set the standard for Eastern Region field hockey, leading the area in goals and assists. That’s just further proof of her dominance; for the past two seasons, every team Lakeland played knew that the two-time District and Region Player of the Year was going to come to play. They knew what she could do, and they knew how she did it. But even with so much time to prepare and so many different schemes to try, no one in the district ever figured out a way to stop the Lady Cavalier. Old Dominion University is going to get quite a gift this fall.