SEF supporting local graduates

Published 12:00 am Monday, June 20, 2005

The Suffolk Education Foundation has awarded its 2005 round of college scholarships.

This year, the Foundation awarded $13,000 to help 22 local high school graduates continue their education.

Since 1993, the Foundation has committed $140,000 in college scholarships for local high school students.

Email newsletter signup

The three recipients of the fourth annual Jean and Harry L. Cross Jr. Endowment Scholarship are Michael Heffington of Nansemond River High School, Latrisha Mitchell of Lakeland High School and Sadot Bell of King’s Fork High School.

Heffington plans to study worship and music ministry at Liberty University to prepare for a career as a worship leader.

Mitchell plans to study biology at University of Mary Washington and is planning a career as a veterinarian.

Bell will study business at Norfolk State University and is planning a career in information technology.

The Cross family established this scholarship to honor their father, a well-known Suffolk Realtor who served on the School Board. The Cross Scholarship awards $1,000 to each student.

The three recipients of the seventh annual Helen and Ned Ferguson Endowment Scholar-ship are Natalie Sims of Nansemond River High School, Belleine Najacque of Lakeland High School and Bell.

Sims plans to attend Virginia Tech to pursue a career in either law, education or marketing.

Najacque plans to study engineering at Virginia Tech, working toward a career as an aerospace engineer with NASA.

The Ferguson Scholarship awards $1,000 to each student.

Several years ago, Laura Morris, a faculty member at Lakeland High School passed away after fighting cancer. The family of this well-loved mathematics teacher established the Laura Lee Owens Morris Memorial Scholarship.

This year’s $500 scholarship was awarded to Ashley Hunter, who plans to study biology at Virginia State University with a career goal of becoming a pediatrician.

The 2005 Lakeland Faculty Memorial Scholarships awarded $500 each to Kaileine Najacque, Sherri Barnes, Melissa Snook and Elizabeth Espinosa.

Najacque plans to study chemistry at Norfolk State University to become an orthodontist.

Barnes plans to study history at Virginia Wesleyan College, working toward a career as a high school history teacher.

Snook will pursue studies at

Longwood University and concentrate on pre-medicine. Espinosa will attend East Carolina University where she will major in early childhood education.

Another $1,000 scholarship recipient from Lakeland High School is Bethany Savage, who received the Electronic Systems Excellence Scholarship, and plans to pursue a career in elementary education and has been accepted at Chowan College.

Other $1,000 scholarship recipients from Nansemond River High School are Katherine Toscano and Tiffany Mason, who each received a Suffolk Education Foundation’s Elec-tronic Systems Excellence Scholarship.

Toscano plans to pursue a career in chemical engineering and will attend the University of Virginia. Mason plans to attend Virginia State University where she will major in sports management. Christina Maupin received the Suffolk Education Foundation’s Rodriguez Ripley Maddux Motley Excellence Scholarship.

She plans to pursue a career in education as an English teacher and will attend Christopher Newport University.

Dustin Hilton of Nansemond River High School received the $500 Duke Automotive Excellence Award. He plans to attend the University of Mary Washington to prepare for a career as a family physician.

Awards are made following an application process and review by the Programs Committee of the Suffolk Education Foundation.

Selection criteria include academic achievement, community-/school service, a clear statement of their career goals and an essay. The Foundation received more than 50 applications for this year’s awards.

Anyone interested in contributing to the scholarship funds of the Suffolk Education Foundation can send their tax-deductible donation to P.O. Box 394, Suffolk Va. 23439-0394.

General donations are also accepted to help the Foundation in its other programs, including teacher mini-grants, Teacher of the Year recognition, and tuition assistance for high school students taking dual-credit college courses.

Contributors should note

which fund they wish to credit their donations.

Contact Tim Copeland, executive director, at 539-1265 for more information.