Pilot Club gives out awards

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 4, 2005

The Pilot Club of Suffolk held its 2005 Salute to Youth Reception Thursday morning at Nansemond-Suffolk Academy.

The club honored 41 students from Suffolk’s four high schools with Certificates of Merit recognizing exceptional accomplishments in a wide range of activities.

Most of these students had already earned honors, positions and accomplishments in areas such as academics, athletics, career-oriented, music, art, drama, church, school, volunteer, and community service.

Email newsletter signup

“These accomplishments are the result of talent, persistence, determination, hard work and organization,” said Anne Stallings, youth division co-coordinator of the Pilot Club of Suffolk. “When you look at everything these students do, that’s a lot of organization.”

Each Certificate of Merit recipient was introduced to the assembly along with two accomplishments, however those two were only portions of why each student was being honored, Stallings said.

“The honors and activities mentioned may not be the most exceptional of their many accomplishments, but have been chosen to indicate the great variety of talent represented here,” Stallings continued.

Jacque Edwards, president of the Pilot Club, said, “all too often we hear only bad news when it comes to our youth.”

Edwards said this her club’s way to publicize the outstanding and positive achievements and contributions being made by high school students in Suffolk.

“We expect (in the future) to hear wonderful things about everyone here this morning.” Edwards said.

2005 Pilot Club of Suffolk Salute to Youth recipients were:

King’s Fork High School

Rachel Bailor

Jenna Brooks

Joshua Brown

Tim Dugan

Jerome Golden

Parker Howell

Nikia Kigler

Kyle Ranallo

Matthew Sessoms

Michael Steingold

Lakeland High School

Amanda K. Aston

Kimberly R. Barnes

Jennifer Byrd

Mary L. Everett

Amber D. Heath

Catherine M. Johnson

Kristy L. Knight

Erica L. Rimasse

D’Lawrence White

Erica M. Wynne

Nansemond River

Titi Audifferen

Jasmine Champ

Zhana Monique Edmonds

Cameron M. Evans

Denis C. Garrett

James Hill

Daniel C. Mattei

Brian Scott Pisani

Crystal Janine Spencer

Channel L. Vialet

Charmaine B. Walker

Nansemond-Suffolk Academy

Christopher Beacham

Tiffany Buckley

Joseph DiRenzo

Kyle Jett

Melissa Lowder

Kristin MacKinnon

Erin Matson

Hannah Trostle

Brock Van Selow

Brittany Voltin