Northampton voters choose new mayors

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 10, 2005

A pair of southeastern Northampton County towns will have new mayors after Tuesday’s municipal elections.

In Woodland, a political newcomer will become the town’s chief political leader.

Jay Jenkins, a native of the southeastern Northampton County town, was chosen by an overwhelming, according to unofficial results from the Northampton County Board of Elections.


Email newsletter signup

In a race that saw 169 people vote, Jenkins garnered 139 votes while challenger James Revelle got 26. There were two write-in votes cast.

&uot;I’m very grateful to the people of Woodland for turning out to vote,&uot; Jenkins said. &uot;I’m excited about the opportunities for the town.

&uot;With the town board that was elected, we have many opportunities to put Woodland on a positive and productive path for the future,&uot; he added.

In the Commissioner’s race, two incumbents will be back on the board as both Les Clark and David Cooper were reelected to two-year terms. Clark, who received the highest vote-total in the race, had 152 votes while Cooper was second with 147 votes.

Clark said he was thankful for the support of the town.

&uot;I’m proud the people of Woodland asked us to continue with what we’re doing,&uot; Clark said. &uot;I appreciate their votes.&uot;

Political newcomer Joseph Mitchell also garnered a seat on the town board, finishing with 139 votes in the election. Joe Blythe was elected to the final seat on the board with 125 votes.

Incumbent Mayor Margaret Burgwyn, who had chosen not to seek reelection as mayor, was unsuccessful in her bid to return to the town board, finishing fifth with 64 votes.

In Rich Square, current commissioner Peggy Risper will take over as mayor of the town in December. Risper got 145 votes in her unopposed bid for the town’s top spot. There were seven write-in candidates.

Incumbent town commissioner Charles M. Eason led the way in the race for the Board of Commissioners. Eason was the highest vote getter with 151 votes.

Coming in second was newcomer Raymond Joyner, who had 142 votes, just one ahead of incumbent Reginald White.

The two final spots on the Rich Square town board went to Mike Slauzis and William Smallwood Jr., both of whom will be new to the board. Each of the candidates received 135 votes.

&uot;I’m appreciative of the people’s confidence in me,&uot; Slauzis said. &uot;I will do my best to do whatever they wish to be done.&uot;

The final two candidates for the Rich Square board were former mayor Nannie O. Branch with 87 votes and Rodney P. Tann with 37 votes.