Stephens is new mayor in Como

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 10, 2005

WINTON – There will be a new mayor in Como.

In Tuesday’s municipal elections, the unofficial results show that Irvin Stephens defeated incumbent mayor Danny Edwards in a close race to become Como’s new mayor.

Stephens, a current member of the Como Town Council who chose to file for mayor, received 23 votes while Edwards finished with 17.


Email newsletter signup

Incumbents Susan Kennington and Stephen Pearce won re-election to the Como Town Council, while newcomers Ann E. Spruill and Kevin Higbee won the final two seats on the governing board.

Kennington led all candidates with 33 votes, Pearce had 29, Spruill received 28 and Higbee finished with 25.

Husband and wife combo Hurley and Susan Hedgepeth lost their bids for seats on the Como Town Council. Susan Hedgepeth received 20 votes while Hurley Hedgepeth received 13.

Elsewhere in Hertford County, incumbent Cofield mayor Hermea Pugh defeated challenger Melvin Wynn to win re-election. Pugh garnered 30 votes while Wynn received nine votes.

The town commissioner’s race in Cofield was close, but incumbents Lee Watford, Anthony Archer and Nettie Brickers won re-election. It appears that write-in candidates Ronald Sutton, also an incumbent, and Anthony Wynn won seats on the Cofield Town Council, but the final seat is yet to be determined as the Hertford County Board of Elections follows up on several unclear write-in votes and provisional ballots.

Watford led all candidates in Cofield with 35 votes, Archer had 34 and Brickers received 23.

Other election results in Hertford County are as follows:

Robert D. Dantz, Harrellsville’s incumbent mayor who ran unopposed, will return for another term as he garnered 13 votes.

Incumbents Deborah Baker, T. Coleman Taylor, Mary Thompson and Roy Worrells Jr. won re-election to the Harrellsville Town Council. Political newcomer Jo M. Liles won the final spot on the council. There were only five candidates running for town council in Harrellsville.

Winton – none of the incumbents were challenged as Mayor Calvin S. Hall (28) and Town Council members Carolyn Bazemore (26), Charles Jones (21), Wesley Liverman (23), Ernest Green (26) and William McCoy Pierce (26) will return to office.

All results are unofficial until next week’s canvas. In most cases, however, the number of uncounted ballots will not be enough to change the outcome of the race.