The All-News-Herald field hockey team

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 10, 2005

Player of the Year

Kelsey Cutchins, Lakeland

You know, it would probably have been more appropriate if Cutchins had played for Nansemond River – wearing red and black, she’d look even more like the human brick wall she was. No Southeastern District goals allowed in a single season would be reason enough to place her among the elite in cagekeeping – doing it twice is unbelievable (not to mention the fact that she only allowed six goals in three years of Eastern Region competition).


Email newsletter signup

First team

Forwards: Ashley Aston, Nansemond River

Lindsay Cutchins, Lakeland

Nicole Klee, Lakeland

Katelyn Yandle, Nansemond River

Midfielders: Whitney Witt, King’s Fork

Ashby Stancill, Lakeland

Mary Rose, King’s Fork


Stephanie Owen, Lakeland

Lindley Theroux, Nansemond River

Kathryn Babineau, King’s Fork

Goalkeeper: Amber Shaffer, Nansemond River

Second team

Forwards: Brandi Novak, King’s Fork

Jessica Watahovich, Nansemond River

Sara Mazzone, Lakeland

Courtney White, Nansemond-Suffolk Academy

Midfielders: Erica Rimasse, Lakeland

Heather Proffit, Nansemond River

Lynsey Daughtrey, Lakeland

Defenders: Anna Key, Nansemond River

Ashley Fulton, Nansemond River

Claudia Graham, Lakeland

Goalkeeper: Brittney Wilkins, Nansemond-Suffolk Academy