R-CH awards #036;60,000 in grants

Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 28, 2006

AHOSKIE – There’s always a first time for everything.

In a brief ceremony held recently, Roanoke-Chowan Hospital presented its first-ever community grant awards to applicant organizations in the R-C area.

Following a review of the applications, the Community Grants Committee selected the top three recipients. They were as follows:


Email newsletter signup

Roanoke-Chowan Community Health Center (RCCHC) where Kim Schwartz serves as Chief Executive Officer. RCCHC earned a $30,000 grant for its Disease Management Telemonitoring Program. Bonnie Britton, who serves RCCHC as its Chief Operating Officer and Director of Nursing, received the grant from RCH during last week’s ceremony.

Loving Light Community Outreach, Inc. was the beneficiary of a $15,000 grant for its Physical Activity Program Development for Youth. Sandra Stephenson, president of Loving Light Community Outreach, received the grant on behalf of Rev. Robert Richardson III and Dennis Stephenson who respectively serve the organization as Executive Director and Director.

ViQuest’s Power Play After School Program received a $15,000 grant. Tyson Mahar accepted the grant on behalf of ViQuest where Frances Perry serves as Director.

Lynn Lanier, the Chief Financial Officer at Roanoke-Chowan Hospital, presented the grants.

The goal of the Community Benefits and Health Initiatives Program is to positively impact the health status of the communities affiliated with University Health Systems (UHS) of Eastern Carolina through early detection, wellness and prevention and direct healthcare services.

This year, Roanoke-Chowan Hospital funded grants that targeted diabetes prevention/management, nutrition and physical activity. Funds for the grants came through the UHS Foundation ($30,000) and the Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust ($30,000).

Following a request for proposals made in June, the RCH Community Grants Committee met and chose the three recipients.

Committee members included Susan Askew (Chair) of the Hertford County Public Health Authority, RCH President Sue Lassiter, Christina Griffiths, FNP, of Ahoskie Primary Care, Dr. Joe Almario of Ahoskie, RCH Community Relations Director Lisa Newsome, Viretta Vann of Ahoskie, Walter Thomas of Murfreesboro, Deborah Howard of the Hertford County Cooperative Extension Agency, District 6B Superior Court Judge Cy Grant, Rev. Jeff Douglas of Ahoskie and Rev. Patrick Young of Ahoskie.