College salutes advisory committees

Published 10:20 pm Thursday, June 4, 2009

At PDCCC, we are thankful for community members who serve on our Curriculum Advisory Committees—and we salute them today.

Curriculum Advisory Committees

Administration of Justice members include David Everett, Warden (Sussex II Prison); Captain Antonio Parham (Western Tidewater Regional Jail); Detective Dennis Greene (Suffolk Police Department); Chief Phil Hardison (Franklin City Police Chief); Sgt. Wanda Stivers (Southampton County Sheriff’s Office); Sgt. Gregory Jackson (Virginia State Police); Captain James C. Taylor, III (Virginia Department of Corrections); and Lt. Daniel Maskelony (Western Tidewater Regional Jail).

Email newsletter signup

Administrative Support Technology members include Jane Bleiler and Tawana Ford (Assistant Principal, King’s Fork) of Suffolk; Yolanda Buck (Tidewater Community College) of Norfolk; Carolyn Crowder and Bessie Smith of Franklin and Joyce Johnson (Utility Billing Clerk) and Carolyn Joyner (Personnel Analyst) – City of Franklin; Lynda Sproul of Windsor; and Peggy Jernigan of Gatesville, N.C.

Business Advisory Committee

Sue Labrato (Human Resources Manager, Thomas J. Lipton Company, Inc.) and Stephen Myers (Commercial Product Manager-Americas, CIBA) of Suffolk.

Child Care/Early Childhood advisory committee members include Dorothy Bryant (Teacher, The Children’s Center), Connie Burgess (Director, Smart Beginnings, Western Tidewater); Ida Council (Area Supervisor, STOP Head Start Program); Mary Bellamy (Director, Children of Faith Daycare) of Franklin; Emma Hill (Teacher Assistant, Smithfield I Head Start); Tammy Jarratt of Capron (SSG Community Action Agency); and Renee Copeland (Teacher Assistant, Mt. Zion Elementary School) of Suffolk.

Industrial and Electrical Technology advisory committee members include Dr. Stanley Brantley, Jr. (President, Amadas Industries) and Roy Frizzell (Outback Electrical Services) of Suffolk; Clyde Parker (Community Liaison), Anthony King (PDCCC Adjunct Faculty, Electricity), Kelley Conaway (Coordinator of Instruction, Franklin Public Schools), Thomas Sanford, Frank Rickman and Steve Fowler (International Paper), and Howard Vinson of Franklin; Kenneth Bunch (Director of Business Development, Community Electric Cooperative) of Windsor; Scott Weatherford (Guidance Counselor, Southampton County Schools) and James Strozier (Industrial Systems Engineering).

Information Systems Technology members include John Smolak (President, Franklin/Southampton Economic Development), Linda Burchett (Manager, Information Technology, International Paper) and Cindy Ferguson (Travel Dreams) of Franklin; Bill Hatch (Technical Specialist, Southampton County Schools); Thomas Czerwinski (Department of Correctional Education) and Keith Edwards (Virginia Information Technology Agency) of Suffolk; Brenda Vaughan, CMP (TMC Design Corporation) of Smithfield; and Ron Davenport (Metro Information Services) of Virginia Beach.

Nursing and Allied Health members include Esther Francis (Administrator, East Pavilion, Southampton Memorial Hospital), Laurie Ross (Interim Chief Nursing Officer, Southampton Memorial Hospital), Edna King (Community Liaison), Carole Dixon (Coordinator, Health and Medical Sciences, Franklin High School), Ercell Vann (LPN Program Head, Southampton Memorial Hospital), Ann Pinner and Carol Wright (RN Faculty, PDCCC) of Franklin; Dr. Candace Rogers (Nursing Program Head, PDCCC); Gwen Sweat (LPN Program Head, Obici Hospital), Deborah Spruill (Corporate Quality Assurance Nurse, Autumn Care), and Phyllis Stoneburner (VP for Patient Care Services, Obici Hospital) of Suffolk.

For information on options available at PDCCC, call 569-6700, or visit the Web site at