Co-op elects directors

Published 10:49 pm Saturday, September 22, 2012

Community Electric Cooperative recently elected directors to represent three of its member communities. From left are Michael A. Faulk, H. Garland Lowe, Jr., Paul E. Owen.

Community Electric Cooperative held its Annual Meeting of Members on Aug. 13 at Windsor High School, with nearly 300 co-op members and guests attending.

Two of the Cooperative’s nine directors were re-elected to serve three-year terms: Paul E. Owen, representing Isle of Wight County, and H Garland Lowe Jr., representing Southampton County.

Owen has served on Community’s board since 2000, recently serving as assistant secretary/treasurer, and Lowe has been a board member since 1988. Michael A. Faulk was elected to a three-year term, representing the city of Suffolk, filling the vacancy of retiring director, Douglas A. Wiggins.

Email newsletter signup

In action taken by the cooperative’s board of directors, Jeannette S. Everett, Carey M. Copeland, Diana F. Beale, and Paul E. Owen were re-elected as chairman, vice chairman, secretary/treasurer, and assistant secretary/treasurer, respectively.

Community Electric Cooperative, headquartered in Windsor, serves more than 10,000 consumer-members in the counties of Isle of Wight, Southampton, Sussex and Surry, and the city of Suffolk.