All-District team named

Published 10:33 pm Friday, February 15, 2013

By Matthew Hatfield

Coaches recently gathered to select the All-Southeastern Boys Basketball Teams for the 2012-13 campaign, and Suffolk’s three public schools were well represented for their success on the hardwood.

Earning First-Team All-District honors were seniors Ed Drew of Nansemond River High School and Jacorey Smith of King’s Fork High School. Also, making Second-Team All-District was King’s Fork senior small forward Byron Taylor.

Email newsletter signup

Drew, a 6-foot-5 forward who often came off the bench a season ago, enjoyed a meteoric rise this season by posting 21 double-doubles in 24 games to lead the Warriors to a third-place finish in the district and 17-7 overall record entering regionals.

A catalyst on both ends of the floor, the 6-foot-1 Smith averaged 12.8 points, 4.3 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 3.2 steals per game during the regular season. The 6-foot-4 Taylor put up 8.8 points, 8.6 rebounds and 2.6 steals per game for the Bulldogs, giving them energy and hustle in multiple facets of the game.

Three players from Suffolk were tabbed Honorable Mention All-Southeastern District. Earning that distinction were King’s Fork senior guard Rod Parrett, Lakeland High School freshman forward Deonte Knight and Nansemond River senior small forward Kendric Washington.

Following are the complete All-District Teams, as voted on by the coaches:

All-Southeastern District First Team:

  • Marcus Evans, junior, Great Bridge
  • Ed Drew, senior, Nansemond River
  • Jacorey Smith, senior, King’s Fork
  • Jaron Burnell, senior, Deep Creek
  • Jashad Jamison, senior, Western Branch
  • Byron Williams, senior, Great Bridge
  • Player of the Year — Great Bridge’s Marcus Evans
  • Coach of the Year — Great Bridge’s Gary Obenour


Second Team All-Southeastern District:

  • Byron Taylor, senior, King’s Fork
  • Nigel Ribeiro, sophomore, Western Branch
  • Breon Heckstall, junior, Indian River
  • Marcell Moss, senior, Oscar Smith
  • Demonte Burns, senior, Western Branch
  • Steve Bienlien, senior, Great Bridge


Honorable Mention:

  • Marcus Anderson, senior, Grassfield
  • Marcellis Perkins, junior, Deep Creek
  • Deonte Knight, freshman, Lakeland
  • Rod Parrett, senior, King’s Fork
  • Devon Oakley, junior, Nansemond River

Trey Fayton, junior, Grassfield

Kendric Washington, senior, Nansemond River

Aaron Sturdifen, senior, Hickory

Kelvin Powell, senior, Indian River

Reggie Hodges, junior, Indian River

C.J. Thomas, senior, Western Branch